# Government of India Ministry of Coal Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2358 To be answered on 01.08.2018

#### Mine Allocation to Coal India Limited

#### 2358. ADV. M. UDHAYAKUMAR:

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has set up a panel to identify additional mines for allocation to Coal India Limited (CIL);
- (b) if so, whether the said panel has come out with any report or suggestion for allocating additional coal mines to CIL; and
- (c) whether Coal India requires additional mines to achieve its target of producing one billion tonne of coal and if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COAL, FINANCE AND CORPORATE AFFAIRS (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (c): In pursuance of Rule 3 (2) of the Coal Blocks Allocation Rules, 2017 (CBA Rules, 2017) framed under the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957 [MM(DR) Act, 1957], a Committee has been constituted on 20.12.2017 under the chairmanship of Additional Secretary, Ministry of Coal to identify additional coal/lignite blocks for allocation and one of the Terms of Reference (ToR) of that Committee is to identify the coal blocks for allocation under the provisions of MMDR Act, 1957 and CBA Rules, 2017 to Coal India Limited (CIL)/its subsidiaries, keeping in view their long term production commitments. The Committee has so far held four meetings.

Coal India Ltd. (CIL) had requested the Government for allotment of additional coal mines so as to make its 3 subsidiaries viz. Eastern Coalfields Ltd. (ECL), Bharat Coking Coal Ltd. (BCCL) and Western Coalfields Ltd. (WCL), 100 MT plus per annum coal producing subsidiaries as these 3 subsidiaries do not have adequate coal reserves at present. Considering the request of CIL, 11 coal mines have been allocated to CIL. Addition of these 11 coal mines will add about 225 MT of coal in its annual production capacity. The details of these 11 coal mines are at Annexure.

### **Annexure**

SI. No	Name of Coal Mine	Location	Name of Subsidiary company of CIL
1	Amarkonda Murgadangal	Jharkhand	ECL
2	Brahmani	Jharkhand	
3	Chichro Patsimal	Jharkhand	
4-5	Rampia and Dip side of Rampia	Odisha	WCL
6-7	Ghogharpalli and Dip Extension of Ghogharpalli	Odisha	
8	Mandar Parvat	Bihar	
9	Dhulia North	Jharkhand	BCCL
10	Mirzagaon	Bihar	
11	Pirpainti- Barahat	Jharkhand	

\*\*\*\*