GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 2307 TO BE ANSWERED ON 01.08.2018

DISTRICTS FOR RAPID TRANSFORMATION

2307. SHRI B.N. CHANDRAPPA: SHRI NALIN KUMAR KATEEL: SHRI D.K. SURESH:

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has selected 115 backward (aspirational) districts for rapid transformation by 2022 in line with Government's vision to create New India;
- (b) if so, the details of the States and districts selected therefor, district and State-wise;
- (c) the criteria adopted for selection of the districts for the said purpose;
- (d) the funds earmarked, sanctioned and spent till date, district-wise; and
- (e) whether the Government has taken measures to ensure that the selected districts achieve the targeted growth and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTER OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CHEMICALS & FERTILIZERS (RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a) Yes Madam. The Government of India has selected 117 districts which have shown relatively slow progress in key social indicators for rapid transformation. These 117 districts are spread over 28 States in India. These districts are called "Aspirational Districts." On January 5, 2018, Aspirational District Programme (ADP) has been launched under which the Centre and States would work as a team to assist District administration for rapidly transforming these districts. As this programme focuses on Health, Nutrition, education, agriculture and water resources, financial inclusion and skill development and basic infrastructure and seeks to improve the performance of the districts across these sectors, this is in line with the Government's vision to create New India by 2022.
- (b) The list of 117 districts selected for the programme is attached in annexure I
- (c) 117 districts were selected as aspirational districts. This includes 35 districts selected by the Ministry of Home Affairs on the basis of these districts been affected by Left Wing Extremism (L.W.E). For the selection of the rest of the 82 districts, Districts have been identified on the basis of composite index. The data bases and their weightage in the composite index is attached in annexure II. After selection, States were requested that in case the State wants any replacement in the district on the basis of objective criteria, Government of India would be open to such suggestions. Accordingly, six States, namely, Sikkim, Odisha, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Gujarat suggested some changes in the list and as a result, 9 districts have been changed in this programme.

- (d) No special funds have been sanctioned or earmarked for the Aspirational Districts Programme. Its core strategy is to improve efficiency in the programmes which are already approved through convergence.
- (e) Under this programme Central Prabhari Officer have been assigned at the Centre level to monitor the implementation of the programme. They are to assist the State Government and the district administration to improve their performance by acting as a bridge between the State Government, District and the Government of India. Key Performance Indicators have been identified and district has been requested to create a vision document and an action program. A dynamic dashboard is facilitating the district to ascertain its position among the Aspirational Districts in India on the basis of incremental change. This in turn is expected to enthuse the District Magistrates to become competitive and with the assistance of their own state government to improve their position. In addition, key Central Ministries have prioritized these districts in their programme. This has resulted in improving the focus of the district administration towards the activities which are critical for improving the quality of life of people in these districts and their economic productivity.

NITI Aayog

List of Aspirational Districts

State	NITI Aayog Districts	Ministries pool of districts	MHA LWE Districts	Total
Andhra Pradesh		1. Vizainagram	1. Visakhapatnam	2
Andhra Pradesh		2. Cuddapah		3
Arunachal Pradesh		1. Namsai		1
Assam	1. Darrang	1. Udalgiri		
Assam	2. Dhubri	2. Hailakandi		
Assam	3. Barpeta			7
Assam	4. Goalpara			
Assam	5. Baksa			
Bihar	1. Katihar	1. Khagaria	1. Aurangabad	
Bihar	2. Begusarai	2. Purnia	2. Banka	
Bihar	3. Sheikhpura		3. Gaya	12
Bihar	4. Araria		4. Jamui	13
Bihar	5. Sitamarhi		5. Muzaffarpur	
Bihar			6. Nawada	
Chhattisgarh		1. Korba	1. Bastar	
Chhattisgarh		2. Mahasamund	2. Bijapur	
Chhattisgarh			3. Dantewada	
Chhattisgarh			4. Kanker	10
Chhattisgarh			5. Kondagaon	10
Chhattisgarh			6. Narayanpur	
Chhattisgarh			7. Rajnandgaon	
Chhattisgarh			8. Sukma	
Gujarat		1. Narmada		2
Gujarat		2. Dahod		2
Haryana		1. Mewat		1
Himachal Pradesh		1. Chamba		1
Jammu and		1 17		
Kashmir		1. Kupwara		2
Jammu and		2 Daramula		2
Kashmir		2. Baramula		
Jharkhand	1. Sahebganj	1. Godda	1. Latehar	
Jharkhand	2. Pakaur		2. Lohardaga	
Jharkhand			3. Palamu	
Jharkhand			4. PurbiSinghbhum	
Jharkhand			5. Ramgarh	
Jharkhand			6. Ranchi	
Jharkhand			7. Simdega	
Jharkhand			8. West Singhbhum	19
Jharkhand			9. Bokaro	19
Jharkhand			10. Chatra	
Jharkhand			11. Dumka	
Jharkhand			12. Garhwa	
Jharkhand			13. Girdih	
Jharkhand			14. Gumla	
Jharkhand			15. Hazaribagh	
Jharkhand			16. Khunti	

Karnataka		1. Yadgir		2
Karnataka		2. Raichur		2
Kerala		1. Wayanad		1
Madhya Pradesh	1. Damoh	1. Chhatarpur		
Madhya Pradesh	2. Singrauli	2. Rajgarh		
Madhya Pradesh	3. Barwani	3. Guna		8
Madhya Pradesh	4. Vidisha			
Madhya Pradesh	5. Khandwa			
Maharashtra	1. Nandurbar	1. Washim	1. Gadchiroli	
Maharashtra		2. Osmanabad		4
Manipur		1. Chandel		1
Meghalaya		1. Ribhoi		1
Mizoram		1. Mamit		1
Nagaland		1. Kiphire		1
Odisha	1. Rayagada	1. Kandhamal	1. Koraput	
Odisha	2. Kalahandi	2. Gajapati	2. Malkangiri	
Odisha		3. Dhenkanal		10
Odisha		4. Balangir		10
Odisha		5. Nabarangpur		
Odisha		6. Nuapada		
Punjab		1. Firozpur		2
Punjab		2. Moga		2
Rajasthan	1. Baran	1. Dholpur		
Rajasthan	2. Jaisalmer	2. Karauli		5
Rajasthan		3. Sirohi		
Sikkim		1. West Sikkim		1
Tamil Nadu		1. Ramanathapuram		2
Tamil Nadu		2. Virudhunagar		
Telengana		1. Bhoopalpalli	1. Khammam	3
Telengana		2. Asifabad		3
Tripura		1. Dhalai		1
Uttar Pradesh	1. Chitrakoot	1. Chandauli		
Uttar Pradesh	2. Balrampur	2. Siddharthnagar		
Uttar Pradesh	3. Bahraich	3. Fatehpur		8
Uttar Pradesh	4. Sonbhadra			
Uttar Pradesh	5. Shrawasti			
Uttarakhand		1. Haridwar		2
Uttarakhand		2. Udham Singh Nagar		
West Bengal	1. Murshidabad	1. Nadia		
West Bengal	2. Maldah	2. Dakshin Dinajpur		5
West Bengal	3. Birbhum			

^{**} At this stage West Bengal (5 District) have not joined this programme.

Composite Index for selection of Aspiration Districts

Databases	Sector	Weight
Landless households dependent on Manual labour (Socio Economic Caste Census – Deprivation 7)	Deprivation	25%
Ante natal care (National Health and Family Survey (NHFS-4)	Health & Nutrition	7.5%
Institutional delivery(NHFS-4)		7.5%
Stunting of children below 5 years (NHFS-4)		7.5%
Wasting in children below 5 yrs (NHFS-4)	-	7.5%
Elementary dropout rate ((Unified District Information System for Education (U-DISE 2015-16)	Education	7.5%
Adverse pupil teacher ratio (U-DISE 2015-16)	_	7.5%
Un-electrified households (Ministry of Power)	Infra	7.5%
Households without individual toilets (Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation)	-	7.5%
Un-connected PMGSY village (Ministry of Rural Development)		7.5%
Rural Household without access to water (Ministry of Drinking water and sanitation)		7.5%
Total		100%