GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2150 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 31ST JULY, 2018

NATIONAL HORTICULTURE MISSION

2150. SHRIMATI KAMLA DEVI PAATLE:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of districts covered under the National Horticulture Mission (NHM) and National Food Security Mission (NFSM), State-wise including Chhattisgarh;
- (b) whether various States including Chhattisgarh have requested the Union Government for inclusion of more districts under the said schemes;
- (c) if so, the details thereof separately, scheme-wise and State-wise;
- (d) whether the Government is likely to consider the inclusion of more districts proposed by the States; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (SHRI GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

- (a): State-wise details of the total number of districts included under the Mission for Integrated Development of Horticulture (MIDH) and National Food Security Mission (NFSM) are at Annexure I & II respectively.
- (b) & (c): Yes, under MIDH since 2014-15 requests from various States:- 2 from Tamil Nadu, 1 from Bihar, 3 from Chhattisgarh, 2 from Madhya Pradesh, 1 from Rajasthan and 1 from Uttar Pradesh have been received for inclusion of more districts under the MIDH.

Under NFSM scheme, there is a fix criteria for selection of districts under various crops as under:

Rice/Wheat

- Districts with area > 50,000 ha and yield below state average yield under NFSM-Rice and NFSM- Wheat.
- All districts of North Eastern States (except Assam) with atleast 5000 ha area under Rice have been selected.
- Districts with atleast 15000 ha area under Rice or wheat in hill states of HP, J&K, and Uttarakhand have been selected.

Coarse Cereals (Maize/Barley)

• The districts covering 70% of the total Coarse Cereals area of the state have been selected.

Continue....2/-

Nutri-Cereals

Districts have > 10,000 ha area under Jowar, Bajra and 5000 ha area for Finger Millet (Ragi) and 2000 ha area for Small Millets.

Details of districts included are at Annexure III.

(d) & (e): On the issue of inclusion of more districts under MIDH, the view of the department is that while finalizing/identifying districts for inclusion under MIDH, a cluster approach for developing potential horticultural crops for ensuring backward and forwarded linkages was adopted. The selection of the district was decided on the comparative advantage of crops based on agro climatic conditions and potential for developing marketing opportunities. No new districts are being added as this may result in thinning out of already limited resources.

However, there is a provision under MIDH scheme for setting up of infrastructure units relating to post harvest management, marketing and other project based activities in non MIDH districts, provided there is a clear linkage of the units with the horticulture produce. Apart from this, activities for development of horticulture in non-MIDH districts can be carried out under other Government schemes like Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY), Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA), Paramparagat Krishi Vikas Yojana (PKVY) etc.

Under NFSM scheme, the inclusion of more districts is considered as per criteria given in part (b) and (c) above

Statement showing State wise Districts covered under MIDH

Sl. No.	Name of States/UTs	No. of Districts*	
1	Andaman & Nicobar	Two (2)	
2	Andhra Pradesh	Eleven (11)	
3	Bihar	Twenty Three (23)	
4	Chhattisgarh	Nineteen (19)	
5	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	One (1)	
6	Delhi	One (1)	
7	Goa Two (2)		
8	Gujarat Fifteen (15)		
9	Haryana Eighteen (18)		
10	Jharkhand . Seventeen (17)		
11	Karnataka Thirty (30)		
12	Kerala Fourteen (14)		
13	Lakshadweep	One (1)	
14	Maharashtra	Thirty Three (33)	
15	Madhya Pradesh	Thirty Nine (39)	
16	Odisha	Twenty Four (24)	
17	Punjab	Eighteen (18)	
18	Puducherry	Four (4)	
19	Rajasthan	Twenty Four (24)	
20	Tamil Nadu Twenty (20)		
21	Telangana Nine (9)		
22	Uttar Pradesh	Forty Five (45)	
23	West Bengal	Fourteen (14)	
24	Arunachal Pradesh	Twenty One (21)	
25	Assam	Thirty Three (33)	
26	Manipur	Sixteen (16)	
27	Meghalaya	Eleven (11)	
28	Mizoram Eight (8)		
29	Nagaland Eleven (11)		
30	Sikkim Four (4)		
31	Tripura (4)		
32	Himachal Pradesh Twelve (12)		
33	Jammu & Kashmir Twenty Two (22)		
34	Uttarakhand Thirteen (13)		
Total	Five Hundred Thirty Nine (539)		

^{*} Subsequent to identification of districts for MIDH implementation, some of the MIDH districts were bifurcated/merged.

Statement showing State wise Districts covered under NFSM

Sl. No.	Name of State	Total Number of Districts
1	Andhra Pradesh	13
2	Arunachal Pradesh	17
3 4	Assam	27
4	Bihar	38
5	Chhattisgarh	27
6	Goa	2
7	Gujarat	26
8	Haryana	21
9	Himachal Pradesh	12 .
10	Jammu & Kashmir	22
11	Jharkhand	24
12	Karnataka	30
13	Kerala	14
14	Madhya Pradesh	51
15	Maharashtra	33
16	Manipur	9
17	Meghalaya	11
18	Mizoram	8
19	Nagaland	11
20	Odisha	30
21	Punjab	22
22	Rajasthan	33
23	Sikkim	4
24	Tamil Nadu	30
25	Telangana	9
26	Tripura	8
27	Uttar Pradesh	75
28	Uttarakhand	13
29	West Bengal	18
	Total	638

State wise details of inclusion of districts under NFSM

S. No.	State	State wise details of inclusion of districts under NFSM
1	Andhra Pradesh	After bifurcation of state of Andhra Pradesh, 5 districts are included under rice, all 13 districts are covered under pulses and 6 districts are covered under coarse cereals.
2	Arunachal Pradesh	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards.
3	Chhattisgarh	In 2014-15, 12 districts were covered under rice, 18 districts were covered under pulses and 5 districts were covered under coarse cereals. In 2016-17, 13 districts are covered under rice, 27 districts are covered under pulses and 9 districts were covered under coarse cereals.
4	Goa	Goa state was not included in 2014-15. Goa is covered under NFSM-Pulses in 2016-17.
5	Himachal Pradesh	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards. In 2014-15, 9 districts were covered under wheat and now 11 districts are covered under wheat.
Ó	J&K	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards. In 2014-15, 5 districts were covered under wheat and now 8 districts are covered under wheat.
7	Jharkhand	In 2014-15, 17 districts were covered under Pulses and now all 24 districts are covered under NFSM-Pulses.
8	Kerala	Kerala state included under NFSM-Pulses from 2016-17.
9	Manipur	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards.
10	Meghalaya	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards.
11	Mizoram	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards.
12	Nagaland	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards.
13	Sikkim	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards.
14	Telangana	After bifurcation of state of Andhra Pradesh, 4 districts are covered under rice, all 9 districts under pulses and 6 districts under coarse cereals.
15	Tripura	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards.
16	Uttarakhand	State included under NFSM for pulses and Coarse cereals from 2014-15 onwards.
