# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF ANIMAL HUSBANDRY, DAIRYING AND FISHERIES LOK SABHA

## UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 2117 TO BE ANSWERED ON 31.07.2018 PROTECTION TO INDIGENOUS BOVINES

### BAN ON COW SLAUGHTER

### 2117. SHRI ASHOK MAHADEORAO NETE:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री

be pleased to state:

- (a) whether a constitutional bench of the Supreme Court in its judgement passed in October, 2005 had justified the decision of the complete ban on cow slaughter in one State of the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the States of the country wherein there is a complete ban on cow slaughter along with those where such ban is not in vogue as on date;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to enact a law to impose a complete ban on cow slaughter across the country; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

## ANSWER THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE& FARMERS WELWARE

## (SHRIMATI KRISHNA RAJ)

Part (a) & (b): The Hon'ble Supreme Court upheld The Bombay Animal Preservation (Gujarat Amendment) Act, 1994 (Gujarat Act No. 4 of 1994), in which inter alia slaughter of bulls and bullocks over the age of 16 years in October 2005 was banned. (SC Case No: Appeal (Civil) 4937-4940 of 1998)

Part (c) to (e): Under the distribution of legislatives powers between the Union of India and States under Article 246(3) of the Constitution, the preservation of cattle is a matter on which the legislature of the States has exclusive powers to legislate. Therefore, it is up to the States to enact laws on slaughter of cows. All States/Union Territories have legislations on slaughter of cows except five States viz Arunachal Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Nagaland and one Union Territory that is Lakshadweep. The list of States/Union Territories having legislation on banning or restricting slaughter of cow and its progeny is given at Annexure-I.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (C) TO (E) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2117 BAN ON COW SLAUGHTER TO BE ANSWERED ON 31<sup>ST</sup> JULY 2018.

STATES/UNION TERRITORIES HAVING LEGISLATIONS ON RESTRICTING/PROHIBITING/ BANNING SLAUGHTER OF ANIMALS INCLUDING MILCH ANIMALS LIKE COWS

## Name of the States

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- 2. Assam
- 3. Bihar
- 4. Goa.
- 5. Gujarat
- 6. Haryana
- 7. Himachal Pradesh
- 8. Jammu & Kashmir
- 9. Karnataka
- 10. Madhya Pradesh
- 11. Maharashtra
- 12. Orissa
- 13. Punjab
- 14. Rajasthan
- 15. Sikkim
- 16. Tamil Nadu
- 17. Tripura
- 18. Uttar Pradesh
- 19. West Bengal
- 20. Manipur
- 21. National Capital Territory of Delhi
- 22. Uttrakhand
- 23. Jharkhand
- 24. Chhattisgarh

## Name of the Union Territories

- Andaman and Nicobar Island
- 2. Chandigarh
  - 3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  - 4. Daman Diu
  - 5. Puducherry