GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†2016 ANSWERED ON 30.07.2018

DEVELOPMENT OF KRISHNA CIRCUIT

†2016. SHRIMATI HEMA MALINI:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Krishna Circuit is being constructed to develop the mythological places related to the life of lord Krishna as tourists places under Swadesh darshan scheme and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the extent to which the work of Krishna circuit has been completed and the time by which the remaining work is likely to be completed;
- (c) whether there is any proposal to develop theme based circuits including Budha circuit, Himalayan circuit, Tribal circuit, Spiritual Circuit and Heritage circuit; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI K.J. ALPHONS)

(a) and (b): Krishna Circuit is one of the fifteen identified circuits under Swadesh Darshan Scheme. The Ministry has initially identified 12 destinations for development under Krishna Circuit, namely, Dwarka (Gujarat); Nathdwara, Jaipur & Sikar (Rajasthan); Kurukshetra (Haryana), Mathura, Vrindavan, Gokul, Barsana, Nandgaon & Govardhan (Uttar Pradesh) and Puri (Odisha). The details of projects sanctioned for development of above mentioned sites are as follows:

(Rs. in Crore)

Sr.	Scheme/	Project Name	Amt.
No.	Year		Sanctioned
1.	PRASHAD	Development of Mathura-Vrindavan	14.93
	2014-15	as Mega Tourist Circuit (Ph-II).	
2.	PRASHAD	Construction of Tourist Facilitation	9.36
	2014-15	Centre at Vrindavan, Distt. Mathura.	
3.	PRASHAD	Infrastructure Development at Puri,	50.00
	2014-15	Shree Jagannath Dham-	
		Ramachandi-Prachi River front at	
		Deuli under Mega Circuit.	
4.	PRASHAD	Development of Dwarka.	26.23
	2016-17		
5.	Swadesh	Development of Tourism	97.35
	Darshan	Infrastructures at places related to	
	2016-17	Mahabharata in Kurukshetra,	
		Haryana.	
6.	Swadesh	Integrated Development of Govind	91.45
	Darshan	Dev ji temple (Jaipur), Khatu Shyam	
	2016-17	Ji (Sikar) and Nathdwara	
		(Rajsamand) in Rajasthan.	

The above projects are at various stages of implementation.

(c) and (d): Under the Swadesh Darshan scheme, Ministry has identified fifteen thematic circuits for development, namely: North-East Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit, Heritage Circuit, Tirthankar Circuit & Sufi Circuit.
