GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 1883 TO BE ANSWERED ON 30.7.2018

ESTABLISHMENT OF SUB-REGIONAL SCIENCE CENTRE

1883. Shrimati Rita Tarai:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to construct / set up Science Centres in each and every district of various States of the country;
- (b) if so, the details there-of State-wise and district-wise including Gujarat and Rajasthan;
- (c) the funds allocated by the Government in this regard, State/UT-wise and the time by which the said Science Centres are likely to be constructed/ established:
- (d) whether the proposal for establishment of sub-regional science centres in Keonjhar, Jeypore and Khandapada submitted by the Government of Odisha to the National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), Kolkotta and Ministry of Culture is lying pending with the Government; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the time by which the said proposal is likely to be approved/finalised?

MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) FOR CULTURE, MINISTER OF STATE FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST & CLIMATE CHAGE (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

ANSWER

- (a) The Ministry of Culture operates Scheme for Promotion of Culture of Science (SPOCS) which provides for setting up of Science Cities and Science Centres in all the States of the country subject to availability of funds for the purpose. States willing to avail of this Scheme has to provide land and share the cost of setting up of facility and corpus for upkeep and maintenance.
- (b) The list of state-wise and district wise Science Centres including those in the State of Gujarat and Rajasthan is placed at Annexure I.

(c) A list of Science Centres being set up along with the funds allocated is at Annexure II.

There is no specific time frame in the Scheme in which Science Cities/Centres are to be set up in each State/UT, since setting up of a Science City/Centre depends on the receipt of a proposal from the State Government along with commitments for meeting requirements such as land, fund etc. As per SPOCS, approximate Project time line in respect of Science Centre (Category-I), Science Centre (Category-II) and Science Centre (Category-III) is 34 months, 27 months and 24 months respectively from the date of placing of order for construction of building.

- (d) No such proposal is pending in the Ministry of Culture.
- (e) Deptt. of Science & Technology, Govt. Of Odisha has been informed in May, 2016 that these proposals could be set up under Scheme "C" of the Science Cities Scheme, i.e. the State Govt. Shall fully fund the Science Centre Project and set up the Science Centre with the technical support from National Council of Science Museums, which is the nodal agency for implementation of the SPOCS (erstwhile Science Cities Scheme). No response has been received from the Govt. of Odisha.

Annexure I

Annexure referred to in reply to (b) of Lok Sabha US Qn 1883 for 30.7.2018

Sl. no.	Names of the Science Centres	State-wise location			
01	Birla Industrial & Technological Museum, Kolkata	West Bengal			
02	Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai	Maharashtra			
03	National Science Centre, Delhi	New Delhi			
04	Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum, Bangalore	Karnataka			
05	Shri Krishna Science Centre, Patna	Bihar			
06	Regional Science Centre, Bhubaneswar	Odisha			
07	Raman Science Centre and Planetarium, Nagpur	Maharashtra			
08	Regional Science Centre, Tirupati	Andhra Pradesh			
09	Regional Science Centre, Guwahati	Assam			
10	Regional Science Centre, Bhopal	Madhya Pradesh			
11	Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Calicut	Kerala			
12	Kurukshetra Panorama & Science Centre, Kurukshetra	Haryana			
13	Bardhaman Science Centre, Bardhaman	West Bengal			
14	District Science Centre, Purulia	West Bengal			
15	District Science Centre, Digha	West Bengal			
16	North Bengal Science Centre & Planetarium, Siliguri	West Bengal			
17	Dhenkanal Science Centre, Dhenkanal & Kapilas Sc. Park	Odisha			
18	District Science Centre & Planetarium, Dharampur	<mark>Gujarat</mark>			
19	Goa Science Centre & Planetarium, Panaji	Goa			
20	District Science Centre & Planetarium, Gulbarga	Karnataka			
21	District Science Centre & Planetarium, Tirunelveli	Tamil Nadu			
22.	Science Centre, Port Blair,	A & N Island			
23	Mizoram Science Centre, Aizwal	Mizoram			
24	Nagaland Science Centre, Dimapur,	Nagaland			
25	Manipur Science Centre, Manipur	Manipur			
26	Itanagar Science Centre, Itanagar	Arunachal Pradesh			
27	Shillong Science Centre, Shillong,	Meghalaya			
28	Sikkim Science Centre & Planetarium, Gangtok	Sikkim			
29	Sub-Regional Science Centres, Kalimpong	West Bengal			
30	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Solapur	Maharastra			
31	Regional Science Centre, Ranchi	Jharkhand			
32	Regional Science Centre, Dharwad	Karnataka			
33	Regional Science Centre, Raipur	Chattisgarh			
34	Regional Science Centre, Dehradun	Uttarakhand			
<mark>35</mark>	Regional Science Centre, Jaipur	Rajasthan			
36	Regional Science Centre, Pune	Maharashtra			
<mark>37</mark>	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Jodhpur	Rajasthan			
38	Jorhat Science Centre & Planetarium, Jorhat	Assam			
39	Regional Science Centre, Coimbatore	Tamil Nadu			
40	Regional Science Centre, Pilikula, Mangalore	Karnataka			
41	Sub-Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Puducherry	Puducherry			

Annexure referred to in reply to (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Qn. No. 1883 for 30.07.2018.

<u>Annexure II</u> (Figures in Lakh)

SI. No.	State	Name of the Project	Funds sanction ed (project cost)	Ratio of sharing of fund betwee n MOC & State Govt.	2014-15 Fund released		2015-16 Fund released		2016-17 Fund released		2017-18 (upto 31.03.2018) Fund released	
					1.	Kerala	RSC, Kottayam	1450.00	50:50	100.00	-	-
2.	Karnataka	RSC, Mysore	1450.00	50:50	100.00	537.00	-	-	-	-	-	188.00
3.	Uttarakhand	RSC, Dehradun*	1265.00	50:50	196.50	-	-	196.50	-	-	-	-
4.	Himachal Pradesh	SRSC, Palampur	600.00	100:00	100.00	-	150.00	-	-	-	-	-
5.	Odisha	SRSC, Bargarh	500.00	50:50	50.00	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
6.	Tripura	SRSC, Udaipur	600.00	90:10	170.00	60.00	-	-	135.00	-	-	-
7.	Bihar	SRSC, Gaya	500.00	50:50	-	-	-	-	50.00	250.00	-	-
8.	Uttarakhand	SRSC, Almora	600.00	100:00	-	-	100.00	-	-	-	-	45.00
9.	Rajasthan	SRSC, Udaipur	500.00	50:50	-	-	100.00		-	250.00	-	-
10.	Madhya Pradesh	SRSC, Jabalpur	500.00	50:50	-	-	100.00	-	-	-	-	300.00
11.	Assam	SRSC, Kokrajhar	600.00	90:10	-	-	146.00	-	-	60.00	-	-
12.	A&N Islands	SRSC, Mayabundar	600.00	90:10	-	-	100.00	60.00	-	-	-	-
13.	Andhra Pradesh	SRSC, Rajahmundry	500.00	50:50	-	-	100.00	-	-	-	-	-

^{*}RSC, Dehradun was inaugurated and handed over to the State Govt. Authority on 3rd February, 2016.