GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1858 TO BE ANSWERED ON 30th JULY, 2018

Gross Enrolment Ratio

†1858. SHRI. LAXMI NARAYAN YADAV:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the districts of Madhya Pradesh identified as educationally backward districts by University Grants Commission (UGC) where gross enrolment ratio in higher education is lower than the national average percentage;
- (b) the names of the districts which were identified during 2011 census; and
- (c) the efforts made/being made by the Governments to improve the level of higher education in the said districts?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (DR. SATYA PAL SINGH)

- (a) & (b): An Expert Committee constituted by the University Grants Commission (UGC) had identified 374 Educationally Backward Districts (EBDs) where Gross Enrolment Ratio (GER) in higher education was less than the national average of 12.4% based on 2001 census data. Amongst the 374 EBDs, 39 such districts were identified in the State of Madhya Pradesh. The list of 374 EBDs is **annexed**.
- (c): The Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) is being implemented by the Ministry of Human Resource Development with the aim of promoting access, equity and quality. *Inter alia,* the scheme provides central assistance to States for creation of Model Degree Colleges, Infrastructure Grants to Colleges and Universities, Creation of Universities either through upgradation of existing autonomous colleges or clustering of colleges etc.

The Project Approval Board (PAB) of RUSA has approved an amount of Rs. 273 crores, under various components, for 27 out of the 39 identified EBDs in the state of Madhya Pradesh.

Annexure referred to in parts (a) & (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1858 to be answered on $30^{\rm th}$ July, 2018 regarding Gross Enrolment Ratio asked by Shri. Laxmi Narayan Yadav, Member of Parliament

List of Educationally Backward Districts (EBDs) identified as per 2001 census data including in the State of Madhya Pradesh

1.A &N Islands	Dantewada	Giridih	Shivpuri	Banswara	Banda
Andamans	Dhamtari	Godda	Sidhi	Baran	Barabanki
Nicobars	Durg	Gumla	Tikamgarh	Barmer	Bareilly
2. Andhra Pr.	Janjgir -champa	Kodarma	Ujjain	Bharatpur	Basti
Adilabad	Jashpur	Pakaur	Umaria	Bhilwara	Bijnor
Anantapur	Kanker	Palamu	Vidisha	Bikaner	Budaun
East Godavari	Kawardha	Paschim.Singhbhum	West Nimar	Bundi	Bulandshahr
Kurnool	Koriya	Sahibganj	18. Maharashtra	Chittaurgharh	Chitrakoot
Mahbubnagar	Mahasamund	14. Karnataka	Buldana	Churu	Etah
Medak	Raigarh	Bagalkot	Gadchiroli	Dausa	Farrukhabad
Nizamabad	Raipur	Bangalore Rural	Hingoli	Dhaulpur	Fatehpur
Prakasam	Rajnandgaon	Belgaum	Jalna	Dungarpur	Gonda
Srikakulam	Surguja	Bellary	Raigarh	Ganganagar	Hamirpur
Vizianagaram West Godavari	7.D & N Haveli D & N Havelli	Bijapur	Ratnagiri	Hanumangarh Jaisalmer	Hardoi Hathras
	8. Daman & Diu	Chamarajanagar	Sindhudurg 19. Meghalaya	Jalor	Jyotiba P. Nagar
3. Arunachal Pr. Changlang	Daman & Diu	Chikmagalur Chitradurga	East Garo Hills	Jaior Jhalawar	Kannauj
Dibang Valley	Diu	Dakshina Kannada	Jaintia Hills	Jhunjhunun	Kannauj Kanpur Dehat
East Kameng	9. Gujarat	Gadag	Ri Bhoi	Jodhpur	Kaushambi
Lohit	Amreli	Hassan	South Garo Hills	Karauli	Kheri
Lower Subansiri	Banas Kantha	Haveri	West Khasi Hills	Nagaur	Kushinagar
Tawang	Bharuch	Kodagu	20. Mizoram	Pali	Lalitpur
Tirap	Bhavnagar	Kolar	Champhai	Raisamand	Maharajganj
Upper Siang	Dohad	Koppal	Kolasib	Sawai Madhopur	Mahoba
Upper Subansiri	Jamnagar	Mandya	Lawngtlai	Sikar	Mathura
West Kameng	Junagad	Raichur	Lunglei	Sirohi	Moradabad
West Siang	Kachchh	Tumkur	Mamit	Tonk	Muzaffarnagar
4. Assam	Kheda	Udupi	Saiha	Udaipur	Pilibhit
Bongaigaon	Mahesana	Uttara Kannada	Serchhip	26. Sikkim	Rae Bareli
Cachar	Narmada	15. Kerala	21. Nagaland	East	Rampur
Darrang	Panch Mahals	Kasaragod	Mon	North	Saharanpur
Dhubri	Patan	Malappuram	22. Orissa	South	Sant Kabir Nagar
Goalpara	Porbandar	Palakkad	Anugul	West	Shahjahanpur
Hailakandi	Rajkot	Wayanad	Balangir	27. Tamil Nadu	Shrawasti
Karbi Anglong	Sabar Kantha	16. Lakshdweep	Bargarh	Ariyalur	Siddharthnagar
Karimganj	Surat	Lakshadweep	Baudh	Coimbatore	Sitapur
Marigaon	Surendranagar	17. Madhya Pr.	Debagarh	Cuddalore	Sonbhadra
Nagaon	The Dangs	Balaghat	Dhenkanal	Dharmapuri	Sultanpur
Sonitpur	Valsad	Barwani	Gajapati	Dindigul	Unnao
Tinsukia	10. Haryana	Betul	Ganjam	Erode	30. Uttaranchal
5. Bihar	Fatehabad	Bhind	Kalahandi	Kancheepuram	Bageshwar
Araria	Gurgaon	Chhatarpur	Kandhamal	Kanniyakumari	Champawat
Aurangabad Banka	Jind Kaithal	Chhindwara Damoh	Kendujhar	Karur Madurai	31. W. Bengal Bankura
Begusarai	Kamal	Datia	Koraput Malkangiri	Nagapattinam	Bankura Barddhaman
Darbhanga	Panipat	Dewas	Nabarangapur	Perambalur	Birbhum
Gopalganj	Sirsa	Dhar	Nayagarh	Pudukkottai	Dakshin Dinajpur
Jamui	11.Himachal Pr	Dindori	Nuapada	Ramanathapuram	Darjiling Darjiling
Kaimur	Chamba	East Nimar	Rayagada	Salem	Haora
Katihar	Kinnaur	Guna	Sonapur	Sivaganga	Hugli
Khagaria	Lahul & Spiti	Harda	23. Pondicherry	Thanjavur	Jalpaiguri
Kishanganj	Sirmaur	Jhabua	Yanam	The Nilgiris	Koch Bihar
Lakhisarai	12. J&K	Katni	24. Punjab	Theni	Maldah
Madhepura	Anantnag	Mandla	Amritsar	Thiruvallur	Medinipur
Madhubani	Badgam	Mandsaur	Bathinda	Thiruvarur	Murshidabad
Nawada	Baramula	Morena	Faridkot	Thoothukkudi	Nadia
W. Champaran	Doda	Narsimhapur	Fatehgarh Sahib	Tirunelveli	North 24 Parganas
E. Champaran	Kargil	Neemuch	Firozpur	Tiruvannamalai	Puruliya
Purnia	Kathua	Panna	Gurdaspur	Vellore	South 24 Parganas
Saharsa	Kupwara	Raisen	Kapurthala	Viluppuram	Uttar Dinajpur
Samastipur	Leh	Rajgarh	Mansa	Virudhunagar	
Sheohar	Punch	Ratlam	Moga	28. Tripura	
Sitamarhi	Rajauri	Sagar	Muktsar	North Tripura	
Siwan	Udhampur	Satna	Nawanshahr	South Tripura	
Supaul	13 Jharkhand	Sehore	Patiala	West Tripura	
Vaishali	Chatra	Seoni	Sangrur	Dhalai	,
6. Chhatisgarh	Deoghar	Shahdol	25. Rajasthan	29. Uttar Pr.	
Bastar	Dumka	Shajapur	Ajmer	Bahraich	
			Alwar	Balrampur	