GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 1378 TO BE ANSWERED ON 25.07.2018

BACKWARD/ASPIRATIONAL DISTRICTS

1378. SHRIMATI RAMA DEVI:

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) the name of districts of Bihar declared as backward/aspirational districts;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to include more districts in the list;
- (c) if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the steps taken to remove the backwardness of these districts and extent to which the success has been achieved?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTER OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CHEMICALS & FERTILIZERS

(RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a)For Aspirational Districts Programme, 13 districts from Bihar have been selected. List of these districts is placed at annexure-I.
- (b)&(c) There is no proposal to include any additional district in Bihar under this Programme.
- (d) Under this program Central Prabhari Officer have been assigned at the Centre level to monitor the implementation of the programme. The Central Prabhari Officers are to assist the State Government and the district administration to improve their performance by acting as a bridge between the State Government, District and the Government of India. Key Performance Indicators have been identified and district has been requested to create a vision document and an action program. A dynamic dashboard is facilitating the district to ascertain its position among the Aspirational Districts in India on the basis of incremental change. This in turn is expected to enthuse the District Magistrates to become competitive and with the assistance of their own State Government to improve their position. In addition, key Central Ministries have prioritized these districts in their programme. This has resulted in improving the focus of the district administration towards the activities which are critical for improving the quality of life of people in these districts and their economic productivity.

Annexure-I

NITI Aayog

List of Aspirational Districts in Bihar

State	NITI Aayog Districts	Ministries pool of districts	MHA LWE Districts	Total
Bihar	1. Katihar	1. Khagaria	1. Aurangabad	
Bihar	2. Begusarai	2. Purnia	2. Banka	
Bihar	3. Sheikhpura		3. Gaya	13
Bihar	4. Araria		4. Jamui	
Bihar	5. Sitamarhi		5. Muzaffarpur	
Bihar			6. Nawada	