GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 734. TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.02.2018

Sachar Committee Recommendation

734. SHRI ASADUDDIN OWAISI:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Union Government has asked all the State Governments to count Muslim staff for implementation of Sachar Committee Recommendations and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the detailed guidelines issued to States in this regard;
- (c) whether some State Governments including Rajasthan have started collecting said data from health centres;
- (d) if so, the State Governments who have submitted such data to the Union Government to implement Sachar Committee recommendations; and
- (e) whether Sachar Committee has published sufficient data in regard to Muslim representation in Government services and if so, the rationale behind issuing such directions to States to collect such data?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a) to (e): In order to implement the Sachar Committee's recommendations submitted to the government on 17.11.2006 for the welfare of minority communities, the Cabinet approved the recommendations of the report on 17.05.2007. The State Government and UTs were requested to consider the recommendation for postings.

No fresh guidelines have been issued by the present government. The details of earlier actions are available on the website <u>www.minorityaffairs.gov.in</u>.

The Sachar Committee had received data from different Government Departments, Agencies and Institutions and based on the report, decisions were taken by the Government at that time. The Ministry of Minority Affairs being the Nodal Ministry to review the progress of implementation of the Cabinet decisions, had called for action taken report from the concerned Ministries/ Departments.

Accordingly, the Ministries/Departments in 2013 had called for reports from the State Government. The States/UTs which reported are - Bihar, Goa, Haryana, Kerala, Meghalaya, Manipur, Punjab, Tripura, Daman & Diu, Chandigarh, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Puducherry, A&N Islands, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Odisha, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand.
