O.I.H

#### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

#### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.597 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 6<sup>TH</sup> FEBRUARY, 2018

# **BAN ON PESTICIDES**

## 597. SHRI RAJESH RANJAN: SHRIMATI RANJEET RANJAN: SHRI ALOK SANJAR:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government is aware of the fact that pesticides which are globally banned are still being used in the country, if so, the details thereof;

(b) whether the Government has constituted an expert committee under the Chairmanship of Anupam Verma in 2013 with a view to prohibit 66 pesticides in the country which are already prohibited in foreign countries, if so, the recommendations of the Committee thereof;

(c) whether these recommendations have been accepted by the Government, if so, the number of pesticides which are prohibited in the country;

(d) the number of pesticides which are manufactured in the country out of the total pesticides being used in farming in the country, presently;

(e) whether the Government has conducted any study to assess the adverse impacts of banned pesticides on human health, environment and livestock, if so, the outcome thereof; and

(f) the steps taken by the Government to make aware the farmers about the technique of scientific application of pesticides?

## ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (SHRI GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

(a): There are 66 pesticides that are banned, restricted, withdrawn in one or more countries but continued to be registered in India. The list of such pesticides is at Annexure I.

(b) & (c): The Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare (DAC&FW) has constituted an expert committee under the Chairmanship of Anupam Verma in July 2013, to review them. The Expert Committee, inter alia, recommended 13 pesticides to be completely banned, 27 pesticides to be reviewed in 2018 after completion of certain technical studies and 6 pesticides to be phased out by 2020. The Complete list is at Annexure II. Considering the recommendation of Expert Committee as accorded by the Registration Committee, the Ministry

of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, vide its Notification S.O. 4212(E) dated 15<sup>th</sup> December, 2016, had invited objections and suggestions from the public/stakeholders on banning/phasing out of certain pesticides. The details are at Annexure III. In response to the Notification S.O. 4212(E) dated 15<sup>th</sup> December, 2016, the Ministry has received various objections and suggestions. Keeping in view of which, a committee has been constituted to review the received objections and suggestions.

(d) & (e): The Registration Committee, constituted under Section 5 of the Insecticides Act, 1968 registers pesticides after considering its efficacy and safety to human beings, animals and environment. In additions, technical reviews are carried out from time to time to assess the safety of pesticides for their continued use. At present, 279 Nos. of Pesticides molecules are registered in the Country.

(f): The Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare is implementing 'Strengthening and Modernization of Pest Management Approach' (SMPMA) Scheme, wherein, inter alia, Farmers Field Schools (FFSs) are organized to sensitize farmers on Integrated Pest Management (IPM) approach and to use chemical pesticides as a last resort as per approved labels and leaflets.

# LIST OF PESTICIDES WHICH HAVE BEEN BANNED/ RESTRICTED/ WITHDRAWN IN ONE OR MORE COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD BUT ARE STILL REGISTERED IN INDIA

Sl. No.	Name of the Pesticide	Sl. No.	Name of the Pesticide
1.	Acephate	41.	Mancozeb
2.	Alachlor	42.	Mepiquat Chloride
3.	Aluminum Phosphide	43.	Metaldehyde
4.	Atrazine	44.	Monocrotophos
5.	Benfuracarb	45.	Oxyflurofen
6.	Benomyl	46.	Paraquat Dichloride
7.	Bifenthrin	47.	Pendimethalin
8.	Butachlor	48.	Phorate
9.	Captan	49.	Phosphomidon
10.	Carbaryl	50.	Peitilachlor
11.	Carbendazim	51.	Propargite
12.	Carbofuran	52.	Propineb
13.	Chlorfenapyr	53.	Quinalphos
14.	Carbosulfan	54.	Sodium cyanide
15.	Chlorothalonil	55.	Sulfosulfurone
16.	Chlorpyriphos	56.	Thiodecarb
17.	DDT	57.	Thiometon
18.	Dezomet	58.	Thiphanate Methyl
19.	Deltamethrin	59.	Thiram
20.	Diazinon	60.	Triazophos
20.	Dichlorovos	61.	Trichlorofon
21.	Dicofol	62.	Tridemorph
23.	Diflubenzuron	63.	Trifluralin
23.	Dimethoate	64.	Zinc Phosphide
25.	Dinocap	65.	Zineb
26.	Diuron	66.	Ziram
27.	Endusulfan (Supreme Court has banned its use)	00.	
28.	Ethofenprox		
29.	Fenpropathrin		
30.	Fenarimol		
31.	Fenitrothion		
32.	Fenthion		
33.	Iprodione		
34.	2,4-D		
35.	Kasugamycin		
36.	Linuron		
37.	Methomyl		
38.	Methoxy Ethyl Mercury		
	Chloride		
39.	Methyl Parathion		
40.	Malathion		

# RECOMMENDATION OF THE EXPERT COMMITTEE WITH RESPECT TO 66 PESTICIDES

S.No.	Category	No. of Pesticides	Name of the Pesticides
1.	I- to be continued	18	Aluminium phosphide, Bifenthrin, Carbosulfan, Chlorfenapyr, Chlorothalonil, Dazomet, Diflubenzuron, Ethofenprox, Fenpropathrin, Iprodione, Kasugamycin, Mepiquat chloride, Metaldehyde, Paraquat dichloride, Pretilachlor, Propargite, Propineb and Zinc phosphide
2.	II- to be reviewed again in 2018, after completion of the recommended studies	27	Acephate, Atrazine, Benfuracarb, Butachlor, Captan, Carbendazim, Carbofuran, Chlorpyriphos, Deltamethrin, Dicofol, Dimethoate, Dinocap, Diuron, 2,4-D, Malathion, Mancozeb, Methomyl, Monocrotophos, Oxyfluorfen, Pendimethalin, Quinalphos, Sulfosulfuron, Thiodicarb, Thiophanate methyl, Thiram, Zineb, Ziram
3.	<ul> <li>III- to be phased out by 2020</li> <li>No new certificate of registration to manufacture shall be issued after December 2017</li> <li>No person shall import, manufacture or formulate w.e.f. 1<sup>st</sup> January 2019</li> <li>The use shall be completely banned w.e.f.31<sup>st</sup> December 2020</li> </ul>	6	Alachlor, Dichlorvos, Phorate, Phosphamidon, Triazophos, Trichlorfon
4.	IV- ban to be continued	1	Fenitrothion
5.	V- it's use to be completely banned.	13	Benomyl, Carbaryl, DDT Diazinon, Fenarimol, Fenthion, Linuron, MEMC, Methyl Parathion, Sodium Cyanide, Thiometon, Tridemorph, Trifluralin
6.	VI- not reviewed as it is sub- judice	1	Endosulfan

## Annexure III

# NAMES OF THE PESTICIDES IN THE NOTIFICATION S.O.4212 (E)

S.No.	Name
1.	Benomyl
2.	Carbaryl
3.	Diazinon
4.	Fenarimol
5.	Fenthion
6.	Linuron
7.	MEMC
8.	Methyl Parathion
9.	Sodium Cyanide
10.	Thiometon
11.	Tridemorph
12.	Trifluralin
13.	Alachlor
14.	Dichlorvos
15.	Phorate,
16.	Phosphamidon
17.	Triazophos
18.	Trichlorfon

\*\*\*\*\*\*