GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF ANIMAL HUSBANDRY, DAIRYING AND FISHERIES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION No 5835 TO BE ANSWERED ON 3RD APRIL, 2018

UNEMPLOYMENT DUE TO BAN ON SLAUGHTER OF CATTLE

5835. DR. ANSUL VERMA:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that several industries have been affected by the ban on cattle slaughter leading to unemployment, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the details of the figures/numbers of people rendered unemployed in the leather industry due to the ban, State-wise;
- (c) the steps taken by the Government for rehabilitation of the people losing their jobs due to the ban; and
- (d) whether the Government has proposed any plan for the provision of alternate means of income for the affected people and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELWARE (SHRIMATI KRISHNA RAJ)

- (a) to (c) Animal Husbandry is the State subject and legislature of States has exclusive power to legislate. Most of the State Governments have enacted legislation for banning/restricting/prohibiting slaughter of animals (Annexure-I & II). No details on unemployment in leather industry due to ban on cattle slaughter is available.
- (d) In order to enhance milk production and productivity of bovines and thereby making dairying more remunerative to the farmers Government of India is implementing following schemes: i) Rashtriya Gokul Mission; ii) National Dairy Plan-I and iii) Cattle Breeding Institutes (Central Cattle Breeding Farms, Central Herd Registration Scheme and Central Frozen Semen production & Training Institutes).

Statement referred in the reply to Lok Sabha Question No. 5835 due to answer on 3rd April 2018 at Part (a) to (c)

Annexure-I

The States/Union Territories having legislation banning/ prohibiting/restricting slaughter of animals and their progeny

Name of the States

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- 2. Assam
- 3. Bihar
- 4. Goa.
- 5. Gujarat
- 6. Haryana
- 7. Himachal Pradesh
- 8. Jammu & Kashmir
- 9. Karnataka
- 10. Madhya Pradesh
- 11. Maharashtra
- 12. Odisha
- 13. Punjab
- 14. Rajasthan
- 15. Sikkim
- 16. Tamil Nadu
- 17. Tripura
- 18. Uttar Pradesh
- 19. West Bengal
- 20. Manipur
- 21. National Capital Territory of Delhi
- 22. Uttrakhand
- 23. Jharkhand
- 24. Chhattisgarh

Name of the Union Territories

- 1. Andaman and Nicobar Island
- 2. Chandigarh
- 3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli
- 4. Daman Diu
- 5. Puducherry

Statement referred in the reply to Lok Sabha Question No. 5835 due to answer on 3rd April 2018 at Part (a) to (c)

Annexure-II

The States/Union Territories having no legislation banning/ prohibiting/restricting slaughter of animals and their progeny

Name of the States:

Name of the Union Territories:

- 1. Arunachal Pradesh
- 2. Kerala
- 3. Meghalaya
- 4. Mizoram
- 5. Nagaland

1. Lakshadweep