## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5751

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 03RD APRIL, 2018 /CHAITRA 13, 1940 (SAKA)

THREE LANGUAGE FORMULA

5751. SHRI B.N. CHANDRAPPA:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has issued any direction to the Bengaluru Metro to implement Three Language Policy and display signage boards in Hindi in the non-Hindi States like Karnataka;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government is aware that the State of Karnataka is classified as "C" region States and the Official Language Rules of 1976 states that Communications from a Central Government office to State or Union Territory in Region "C" or to any office (not being a Central Government office) or person in such State shall be in English;
- (d) if so, whether it is true that the said rule is violated to impose Hindi signages in Namma Metro rails in Bengaluru;
- (e) if so, the details thereof; and
- (f) whether the Government is aware that the Three Language Formula is for adoption and if so, the details thereof?

## ANSWER

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) to (f): Yes, Madam. As per the Article 343 of the Constitution the Official Language of the Union is Hindi in Devnagari script. The Union Government has conveyed that since Bengaluru Metro Rail Corporation Limited has 50% equity from the Union Government and is under the control of Ministry of

--2--

L.S.US.Q NO. 5751 FOR 03.04.2018

Urban Development, Government of India which comes under the definition

of 'Central Government Office' under Rule 2(b)(iii) of The Official Language

Rules, 1976, hence the provisions of The Official Language Rules, 1976 and

The Official Languages Act, 1963 will be applicable on Bengaluru Metro

**Rail Corporation Limited.** 

Regarding the implementation of Three Language Formula, the order

of usage of languages in the name-boards/notice-boards to be displayed for

the information of the public by Central Government Offices and

undertakings which are located in non-Hindi speaking areas is to be in the

following order -

1. Regional Language, 2. Hindi, 3. English.

\*\*\*\*\*