GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5596 TO BE ANSWERED ON 2ND APRIL, 2018

PROMOTION OF CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMMES IN JHARKHAND

5596. SHRI NISHIKANT DUBEY:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has taken any steps to promote cultural development programmes in various parts of the country including Jharkhand;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the schemes formulated/being implemented in this regard; and
- (c) the other steps taken/being taken by the Government to promote the culture of our country?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) FOR CULTURE AND MINISTER OF STATE FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST & CLIMATE CHANGE

(DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

- (a) & (b) Yes, Madam. To protect & preserve various forms of art and for promotion of cultural development programmes throughout the country including Jharkhand, the Government of India has set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) with headquarters at Patiala, Nagpur, Udaipur, Allahabad, Kolkata, Dimapur and Thanjavur. These ZCCs under Ministry of Culture are implementing a number of schemes viz. Award to Young Talented Artistes, Guru Shishya Parampara Scheme, Theatre Rejuvenation Scheme, Research & Documentation Scheme, Shilpgram Scheme, Octave and J&K Festivals and National Cultural Exchange Programme (NCEP) for promotion of cultural development programmes in the country.
- (c) To promote the culture of our country, the Government of India has organized Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsavs (RSMs) at New Delhi (November, 2015 and October, 2016), at Varanasi (December, 2016), at Bengaluru & Tawang (March, 2017), at Gujarat (October, 2017), at Karnataka (January, 2018) and at Madhya Pradesh (February, 2018). A Sanskriti Mahotsav was also organized at Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh during February, 2018. In addition to these Mahotsavs, these ZCCs organize various cultural activities and programmes on regular basis throughout the country for promotion of culture for which annual grant-in-aid is given to them by the Government of India.