GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5515 TO BE ANSWERED ON 28.03.2018

SURVEY OF RAILWAY PROJECTS IN BIHAR

†5515. SHRIMATI RAMA DEVI:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has conducted any survey for laying railway lines, gauge conversion and electrification of railway lines in Bihar; and
- (b) if so, the details and the outcome thereof, location-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) and (b): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) AND (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5515 BY SHRIMATI RAMA DEVI TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 28.03.2018 REGARDING SURVEY OF RAILWAY PROJECTS IN BIHAR.

(a) and (b): At present surveys for laying of 34 new lines and 7 doublings falling fully/partly in the State of Bihar have been taken up and are at different stages of progress. However, there is no sanctioned survey for any Gauge Conversion project falling fully/partly in Bihar. Details of these surveys are as under:-

S.	Zonal	Plan	Name of the Project	KMS
No.	Railways	head		
1	ECR	New Line	Areraj-Narkatiaganj via Lauria	87
2	ECR	New Line	Bagha-Choutrava-Bathwadiya-Nawalpur-	45
			Louria-Yogapatti	
			Betiya-Ghogha-Vaishkhawa-Balthar-Mainatad-	
			Bhikhnathori	
3	ECR	New Line	Barauni-Hasanpur via. Bhagvanpur and	50
			Cheria Bariarpur	
4	ECR	New Line	Bhagwanpur-Samastipur via mahua, Tajpur	60
5	ECR	New Line	Bihar Sharif-Nawada	36
6	ECR	New Line	Bihariganj-Birpur (92 Km) via Murliganj,	95
			Triveniganj Khurda, Jadia,	
			Chatapur,Pratapganj Bhimnagar)	
7	ECR	New Line	Biharsharief-Jahanabad via Enkgarsari	65
8	ECR	New Line	Chakia-Bairgania via Madhubani, Phenhara	50
9	ECR	New Line	Chakia-Kesariya (Kaithwalia	25
10	ECR	New Line	Darbhanga-Muzaffarpur	50
11	ECR	New Line	Dehri-On-Son - Bhunathpur	39
12	ECR	New Line	Dhanbad-Giridih (50 Km)	50
13	ECR	New Line	Dildarnagar-Mundeshwari Dham	70
14	ECR	New Line	Ghogardia to Ghoghepur via Kishanpatti,	50
			Jamalpur	
15	ECR	New Line	Hasanpur-Tilrath	35
16	ECR	New Line	Islampur-Bodhgaya via Manpur	50
17	ECR	New Line	Islampur-Khizersarai-Manpur	60
18	ECR	New Line	Jhajha-Girdih via Sonuchakai	82
19	ECR	New Line	Kusheshwarsthan-Saharsa	35
20	ECR	New Line	Lalitgram-Puraini-Murliganj	55
21	ECR	New Line	Lohna-Muktapur via Alinagar, Trimuhani,	75
			Bahedi	_
22	ECR	New Line	Madhubani-Benipatti-Pupri	45
23	ECR	New Line	Madhubani-Kamtaul	30
24	ECR	New Line	Madhubani-Sitamarhi-Bairgnia via Shivpur,	50
			Pakri Dayal, Dhaka,	

S.	Zonal	Plan	Name of the Project	KMS
No.	Railways	head		
25	ECR	New Line	Maharajganj-Ratan Sarai via Afrad, Laddhi,	32
			Jamo	
26	ECR	New Line	Motipur-Rajapatti via Sahibganj	58
27	ECR	New Line	Mugalsarai-Bhabua via Naughar	40
28	ECR	New Line	Nawadah-Giridih via Satgawan	130
29	ECR	New Line	New Line from Jehanabad-Arwal via Kinjar	45
30	ECR	New Line	Pawapuri-Nawada	35
31	ECR	New Line	Simri Bhakhtiyarpur-Bihariganj	54
32	ECR	New Line	Sitamarhi-Janakpur via Bathnaha	45
33	ECR	New Line	Thawe-Motihari-Choura Dano	90
34	ECR	New Line	2 Nos. Bye-passes at Bachhwara-Samastipur	34
			& Garhwa Road	
35	ECR	Doubling	7 nos. Of flyovers at Sasaram, Phulwarisharif,	154
			Patliputra-Danapur, Pradhankhanta, Ankorah,	
			Chiraila Pauthu & Mughalsarai	
36	ECR	Doubling	Doubling work of Muzaffarpur-Motihari-	318
			Narkatiaganj-Gorakhpur	
37	ECR	Doubling	MGS-Patna-Kiul 3rd line	335
38	NER	Doubling	Gorakhpur Cantt-Valmiki Nagar	91
39	NFR	Doubling	Katihar-Mukuria	39
40	NFR	Doubling	Malda Town-Kumedpur-Barsoi 3rd line	56
41	NFR	Doubling	Radhikapur -Barsoi	52

ECR - East Central Railway, NER - North Eastern Railway,

NFR - Northeast Frontier Railway

For achieving 100% electrification including all Broad Gauge (BG) routes, Ministry of Railways have decided to electrify the remaining unelectrified 38000 broad gauge Route Kilometre (RKM).

In Budget 2018-19, 13675 RKM of electrification projects (including 566 RKM of State of Bihar) have been included subject to necessary approvals.
