GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 4842 TO BE ANSWERED ON 26.03.2018

PROMOTION OF INDIAN CULTURE ABROAD

4842. SHRI NATUBHAI GOMANBHAI PATEL:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the countries where cultural programmes/festivals have been organised during each of the last three years so that our culture may get recognition abroad;
- (b) whether the Government is satisfied with the success of the said programmes and proposes to expand them further;
- (c) if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR CULTURE AND MINISTER OF STATE FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

(DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

(a) The list of countries where cultural programmes/festivals have been organised during the last three years by Ministry of Culture and Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) is attached as Annexure.

(b) and (c) The Festival of India and cultural programmes organised abroad have helped foster and strengthen the existing relations and mutual understanding between India and other countries. The events have been successful in achieving the objectives.

(d) Does not arise

Annexure referred in Part (a) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 4842 for <u>26.03.2018</u>

Names of the countries where cultural programmes/Festival of India have been organised

APRIL 2014 - MARCH 2015:

Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Belgrade, Belize, Bhutan, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia & Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Guyana, Haiti, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montenegro, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Palestine, Peru, Portugal, Reunion Island, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Barbados, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, UAE, Uganda, UK, Ukraine, USA, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

April 2015 – March 2016:

Algeria, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bhutan, Bosnia, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Madgascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Montenegro, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Reunion Island, Republic of Korea, Russia, Rwanda, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, UAE, Uganda, UK, USA, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

April 2016 – March 2017:

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bhutan, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Guyana, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malawi, Malaysia, Myanmar, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Netherland, New Zealand, Oman, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Reunion Island, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, UAE, UK, Ukraine, USA, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.