## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4276 TO BE ANSWERED ON 21-03-2018

## Procedure to Accord Minority Status to any Community

4276. SHRI PARTHA PRATIM RAY:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the number of religious communities treated as minority in our country;

(b) whether the Government has any plan of according minority status to Jews or any community and if so, the details thereof ; and

(c) the names and number of minority communities who are appointed in the National Commission for Minorities?

## <u>ANSWER</u> MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a) The Central Government has notified six communities as minorities in the context of India as a whole under Section 2(c) of National Commission for Minorities (NCM) Act, 1992. These communities are namely Muslims, Sikhs, Buddhists, Christians, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains.

(b) This Ministry has received requests from some organization of Jewish and other communities demanding grant of minority status. Such proposals for notifying a community as minority community by the Central Government involve consultations with various stakeholders.

(c) As on date members from all the six notified minority communities have been nominated as Chairperson/ Vice-chairperson or Members of NCM.

\*\*\*\*\*\*