GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4233 TO BE ANSWERED ON 21.03.2018

PURCHASE OF POWER FROM DISCOMS

4233. SHRI C.S. PUTTA RAJU:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is purchasing power from various discoms across the country for its train operations and if so, the details thereof, discom-wise;
- (b) the details of expenses incurred on purchasing power from discoms, year-wise;
- (c) whether any proposal is pending with the Government to change this system of purchasing power from discoms;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the time by which a final decision in this regard is likely to be taken?

(f)

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

- (a) & (b) Yes, Madam. Indian Railways is purchasing power from various Distribution Companies (DISCOMs) across the country for its train operations, details of which are appended.
- (c) to (e) Indian Railways was granted deemed licensee status in November, 2015 after which it has started to procure power through Open Access from Generating Companies (GENCOs) through tariff based bidding/bilateral arrangements and has made applications to

various State Transmission Utilities (STUs) for obtaining "No Objection Certificate" (NOC). Indian Railways is presently drawing about 1000 MW through Open Access, out of about 2000 MW total requirement, in the States of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Haryana, Karnataka and also in Damodar Valley Corporation (DVC) and Central Transmission Utility (CTU) points in Uttar Pradesh after the NOC was granted by the States. As and when NOC is granted by other States, the share of drawing power through Open Access will further go up.

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4233 BY SHRI C.S. PUTTA RAJU TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 21.03.2018 REGARDING PURCHASE OF POWER FROM DISCOMS

(a) & (b) Details of State Electricity Boards/Distribution Company (DISCOMs)-wise Traction Energy Bill are as under:

WISC	raction Energy bill are as under:				
SN	Name of SEB's/DISCOM's	Energy Bill (traction) in Million Rs.			
		2015-16	2016-17	2017-18 (upto Dec.'17)	
1	Andhra Pradesh Eastern Power Distribution Company Ltd.(APEPDCL)	4258	4136	2407	
2	Bangalore Electricity Supply Company(BESCOM)	367	434	302	
3	Chamundi Electricity Supply Company(CESCOM)	462	478	380	
4	Gulburga Electricity Supply Company(GESCOM)	20	25	12	
5	Gujrat Electricity Board(GEB)	3960	2448	2226	
6	Grid Corporation of Odisha (GRIDCO)	3805	1501	-	
7	Harayana Vidyut Prasaran Nigam Ltd.(HVPNL)	543	564	269	
8	Jharkhand State Electricity Board (JSEB)	3960	1764	1009	
9	Kerla State Electricity Board (KSEB)	1198	1287	1113	
10	Madhya Pradesh State Electricity Board (MPSEB)	3915	1614	927	
11	Maharashtra State Electricity Board (MSEB)	282	72	120	
12	National Thermal Power Corporation(NTPC)	1366	1025	913	
13	Punjab State Power Corporation Ltd.(PSPCL)	1136	1201	1172	
14	Tamilnadu Electricity Board (TNEB)	6916	6940	5348	
15	Paschimanchal Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.(PVVNL)	475	1350	1352	
16	Uttarakhand Power Corporation Ltd.(UPCL)	66	98	127	
17	West Bengal State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd. (WBSEDCL)	8577	9077	7341	
18	Tata Group (TATA)	7097	3157	1881	
19	Bses Rajdhani Power Ltd. (BRPL)	290	187	146	
20	Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd. (TPDDL)	373	385	313	

21	Uttar Haryana Bijli Vitran Nigam (UHBVN)	1262	1285	655
22	Dakshin Haryana Bijli Vitran Nigam (DHBVN)	943	948	405
23	Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation Ltd. (UPPCL)	5475	6300	4888
24	Reliance Energy	124	-	-
25	Maharastra State Electricity Distribution Co. Ltd. (MSEDCL)	9056	1890	1716
26	Bihar State Electricity Board (BSEB)	3721	3781	3787
27	Damodar Valley Corporation (DVC)	5039	5758	3671
28	Andhra Pradesh Central Power Distribution Company Ltd. (APCPDCL)	574	161	181
29	Chhattishgarh State Power Distribution Company Ltd. (CSPDCL)	5565	6187	3472
30	Andhra Pradesh Northern Power Distribution Company Ltd.(APNPDCL)	1259	-	-
31	Andhra Pradesh Southern Power Distribution Company Ltd. (APSPDCL)	4223	4023	2492
32	Jaipur Vidhyut Vitran Nigam Ltd. (JVNL)	2558	2390	528
33	Madhya Pradesh Paschim Kshetra Vidhyut Vitran Company Ltd. (MPPKVVCL)	4359	3063	1153
34	Madhya Pradesh Kshetra Vidhyut Vitran Company Limited (MPMKVVCL)	3013	2137	1387
35	Madhya Gujarat Vidhyut Vij Company Ltd. (MGVCL)	528	340	266
36	Southern Electricity Supply Company of Odisha Ltd.(SOUTHCO)	272	730	714
37	Western Electricity Supply Company Of Odisha Ltd.(WESCO)	1712	1712	1335
38	North Estern Electricity Supply Company of Odisha Ltd.(NESCO)	732	1817	1847
39	Telangana State Northern Power Distribution Company Ltd. (TSNPDCL)	1695	2884	2193
40	Telangana State Southern Power Distribution Company Ltd. (TSSPDCL)	577	1018	1065
41	Ratnagiri Gas and Power Pvt. Ltd.(RGPPL)	2670	8809	11213
42	North Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd. (NBPDCL)	-	5	-
43	Madhyanchal Vidhyut Vitran Nigam Ltd. (MVVNL)	-	509	1023

44	Jindal India Thermal Power Ltd. (JITPL)	-	115	815
45	Central Electricity Supply Utility of Odisha (CESU)	-	1158	1572
46	Bharatiya Rail Bijlee Company Ltd. (BRBCL)	-	-	573
47	Calcutta Electric Corporation (CESC)	-	-	2
48	Jammu & Kashmir Power Development Department (J&KPDD)	-	-	62
	TOTAL	104422	94766	74370

- Indicates that no power drawn from this DISCOM during this period.
