GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4232 TO BE ANSWERED ON 21.03.2018

DECLARATION OF BACKWARD DISTRICT

4232. SHRIMATI RAMA DEVI:

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of districts of Bihar State declared as backward districts;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to include more districts of Bihar in the list of backward districts, including Sitamarhi and Shivhar; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the steps taken to remove the backwardness of these districts?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDNT CHARGE) FOR THE MINISTRY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CHEMICALS & FERTILIZERS

(RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a) NITI Aayog has not declared any district as a backward district. However, 115 districts have been identified across the country which have shown lesser progress in term of socio-economic indicators like Health& Nutrition, Education, and Basic Infrastructure. These identified districts have been termed as Aspirational Districts. In Bihar,13 districts have been identified as Aspirational Districts which includes 6 districts identified by Ministry of Home Affairs on the basis of their being affected by Left Wing Extremism. These 13 districts are Katihar, Begusarai, Sheikhpura, Araria, Sitamarhi, Khagaria, Purnia, Aurangabad, Banka, Gaya, Jamui, Muzaffarpur, and Nawada.
- (b) As seen from above, Sitamarhi is already included in the list of aspirational districts. At present, there is no such plan for expansion of this programme or inclusion of Shivhar district.
- (c) The State Government in partnership with the Central Government has taken measures to remove backwardness. This includes implementation of Centrally Sponsored Schemes which in turn includes schemes like Mahatma Ghandi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, Pradhan Mantri Gramin Sadak Yojana, National Social Action Programme, Schemes in agriculture, water resources, sanitation and basic infrastructure like programme for housing (Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana), Saubhagya Yojana for rural electrification etc.. In addition, backwardness of the State has been taken into consideration in the formula for inter-se allocation of resources by the 14th Finance Commission. This enables the State to take measure to remove backwardness.
