GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4136 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 20TH MARCH, 2018

USE OF BANNED PESTICIDES

4136. SHRI RAMSINH RATHWA:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE ‡ãoŠãaÓã एवं किसान कल्याण ½ãâ¨ããè be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes new policy initiatives on pesticides use and awareness drive among farmers for safe farming, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether many pesticides banned elsewhere in the world are still in use in the country;
- (c) if so, the details thereof and the action taken by the Government in this regard; and
- (d) whether 'neonicotinoid' category of pesticides, banned or restricted in other countries are registered and used in the country and if so, the action taken by the Government to ban such pesticides?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

‡ãðŠãäÓã एवं किसान कल्याण ½ãå¨ããÊã¾ã ½ãñâ À㕾ã ½ãâ¨ããè (SHRI PARSHOTTAM RUPALA)

(a): The Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare has established 35 Central Integrated Pest Management Centres (CIPMCs) across the Country. These CIPMCs, inter alia, conduct Farmers Field Schools (FFSs) to sensitize farmers on Integrated Pest Management (IPM) approach, and safe and judicious use of chemical pesticides as a last resort as per approved labels and leaflets. In the last three years, a total of 1971 FFSs have been organized, sensitizing 59130 farmers. In addition, Regular advisories on pest management are being shared with the States for their timely dissemination to the farmers through their extension functionaries. The State Governments through various forums such as Zonal Conferences and National Conference are requested to exhort their extension functionaries to educate and impart training to farmers on efficacious and sustainable pest management strategies and approaches.

- There are 66 pesticides that are banned, restricted, withdrawn in one or (b) & (c): more countries but continued to be registered in India. The list of such pesticides is at Annexure I. The Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare (DAC&FW) has constituted an expert committee under the Chairmanship of Anupam Verma in July 2013, to review them. The Expert Committee, inter alia, recommended 13 pesticides to be completely banned, 27 pesticides to be reviewed in 2018 after completion of certain technical studies and 6 pesticides to be phased out by 2020. The Complete list is at Annexure II. Considering the recommendation of Expert Committee as accorded by the Registration Committee, the Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, vide its Notification S.O. 4212(E) dated 15th December, 2016, had invited objections and suggestions from the public/stakeholders on banning/phasing out of certain pesticides. The details are at Annexure III. In response to the Notification S.O. 4212(E) dated 15th December, 2016, the Ministry has received various objections and suggestions. Keeping in view of which, a committee has been constituted to review the received objections and suggestions.
- (d): Six neonicotinoids (i.e. Imidiacloprid, Thiocloprid, Acetamiprid, Thiamethoaxane, Clothianidin & Dinotefuran) are registered with different formulations in the Country. The Anupam Verma Committee reviewed the use of neonicotinoids registered in India and made the following recommendations:
 - (i) The use of neonicotinoids may not be restricted immediately
 - (ii) A coordinated multi institutional study needs to be launch to determine the effect of neonicotinoids on honey bees under different Agro-climatic conditions for at least a period of 2 years
 - (iii) Additional data on bio-efficacy and toxicological studies may also be generated in multi-location study.
 - (iv) The use of neonicotinoids in India may be reviewed after the findings of the multi-institutional study are available.

LIST OF PESTICIDES WHICH HAVE BEEN BANNED/ RESTRICTED/ WITHDRAWN IN ONE OR MORE COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD BUT ARE STILL REGISTERED IN INDIA

SI. No.	Name of the Pesticide	SI. No.	Name of the Pesticide
1.	Acephate	41.	Mancozeb
2.	Alachlor	42.	Mepiquat Chloride
3.	Aluminum Phosphide	43.	Metaldehyde
4.	Atrazine	44.	Monocrotophos
5.	Benfuracarb	45.	Oxyflurofen
6.	Benomyl	46.	Paraquat Dichloride
7.	Bifenthrin	47.	Pendimethalin
8.	Butachlor	48.	Phorate
9.	Captan	49.	Phosphomidon
10.	Carbaryl	50.	Peitilachlor
11.	Carbendazim	51.	Propargite
12.	Carbofuran	52.	Propineb
13.	Chlorfenapyr	53.	Quinalphos
14.	Carbosulfan	54.	Sodium cyanide
15.	Chlorothalonil	55.	Sulfosulfurone
16.	Chlorpyriphos	56.	Thiodecarb
17.	DDT	57.	Thiometon
18.	Dezomet	58.	Thiphanate Methyl
19.	Deltamethrin	59.	Thiram
20.	Diazinon	60.	Triazophos
21.	Dichlorovos	61.	Trichlorofon
22.	Dicofol	62.	Tridemorph
23.	Diflubenzuron	63.	Trifluralin
24.	Dimethoate	64.	Zinc Phosphide
25.	Dinocap	65.	Zineb
26.	Diuron	66.	Ziram
27.	Endo-sulfan (Supreme Court has banned its use)		
28.	Ethofenprox		
29.	Fenpropathrin		
30.	Fenarimol		
31.	Fenitrothion		
32.	Fenthion		
33.	Iprodione		
34.	2,4-D		
35.	Kasugamycin		
36.	Linuron		
37.	Methomyl	İ	
38.	Methoxy Ethyl Mercury Chloride		
39.	Methyl Parathion		
40.	Malathion		

RECOMMENDATION OF THE EXPERT COMMITTEE WITH RESPECT TO 66 PESTICIDES

S.	Category	No.	Name of the Pesticides
No.		of Pesticide s	
1.	I- to be continued	18	Aluminium phosphide, Bifenthrin, Carbosulfan, Chlorfenapyr, Chlorothalonil, Dazomet, Diflubenzuron, Ethofenprox, Fenpropathrin, Iprodione, Kasugamycin, Mepiquat chloride, Metaldehyde, Paraquat dichloride, Pretilachlor, Propargite, Propineb and Zinc phosphide
2.	II- to be reviewed again in 2018, after completion of the recommended studies	27	Acephate, Atrazine, Benfuracarb, Butachlor, Captan, Carbendazim, Carbofuran, Chlorpyriphos, Deltamethrin, Dicofol, Dimethoate, Dinocap, Diuron, 2,4-D, Malathion, Mancozeb, Methomyl, Monocrotophos, Oxyfluorfen, Pendimethalin, Quinalphos, Sulfosulfuron, Thiodicarb, Thiophanate methyl, Thiram, Zineb, Ziram
3.	 No new certificate of registration to manufacture shall be issued after December 2017 No person shall import, manufacture or formulate w.e.f. 1st January 2019 The use shall be completely banned w.e.f. 31st December 2020 	6	Alachlor, Dichlorvos, Phorate, Phosphamidon, Triazophos, Trichlorfon
4.	IV- ban to be continued	1	Fenitrothion
5.	V- it's use to be completely banned.	13	Benomyl, Carbaryl, DDT Diazinon, Fenarimol, Fenthion, Linuron, MEMC, Methyl Parathion, Sodium Cyanide, Thiometon, Tridemorph, Trifluralin
6.	VI- not reviewed as it is sub-judice	1	Endosulfan

Annexure III

NAMES OF THE PESTICIDES IN THE NOTIFICATION S.O.4212 (E)

S.No.	Name
1.	Benomyl
2.	Carbaryl
3.	Diazinon
4.	Fenarimol
5.	Fenthion
6.	Linuron
7.	MEMC
8.	Methyl Parathion
9.	Sodium Cyanide
10.	Thiometon
11.	Tridemorph
12.	Trifluralin
13.	Alachlor
14.	Dichlorvos
15.	Phorate,
16.	Phosphamidon
17.	Triazophos
18.	Trichlorfon
