O.I.H

GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4041 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 20TH MARCH, 2018

DEVELOPMENT OF CO-OPERATIVE SOCIETIES

4041. DR. RAMESH POKHRIYAL "NISHANK": SHRI MANSHANKAR NINAMA:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

(a) the details of co-operative societies functioning in the country at present, State/ UT-wise;

(b) whether the Government proposes to formulate a uniform national policy for the development and upgradation of cooperative societies;

- (c) if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the time by which the said policy is likely to be implemented?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (SHRI PARSHOTTAM RUPALA)

(a): Co-operatives is State subject under entry 32 of the State List of 7th Schedule of the Constitution and details of co-operative societies registered at State level are not maintained by Government. However, the list of co-operative societies registered under Multi-State Co-operative Societies Act, 2002 and functioning in the country at present, State/UT-wise, is placed at Annexure.

(b) to (d): National Policy on Co-operatives has already been declared by the Government in March, 2002 with a objective to facilitate all round development of the co-operatives in the country. Under the Policy, co-operatives are being provided necessary legislative and policy support and encouragement to ensure their working as autonomous, self-reliant and democratically managed institutions accountable to their members for making a significant contribution to the national economy.

ANNEXURE

ANNEXURE refered to in part (a) of Lok Sabha unstarred question No. 4041 answered on 20th March, 2018 by Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal "Nishank" and Shri Manshankar Ninama regarding "Development of Co-operative Societies"

S	State / UT Name	No. of Societies
No		
1	ANDHRA PRADESH	18
2	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1
3	ASSAM	5
4	BIHAR	17
5	CHANDIGARH	1
6	CHHATTISGARH	8
7	DADRA AND NAGAR HAVELI	1
8	GOA	2
9	GUJARAT	34
10	HARYANA	12
11	HIMACHAL PRADESH	1
12	JHARKHAND	8
13	KARNATAKA	26
14	KERALA	20
15	MADHYA PRADESH	26
16	MAHARASHTRA	560
17	MANIPUR	1
18	NAGALAND	1
19	NEW DELHI	133
20	ODISHA	19
21	PONDICHERRY	5
22	PUNJAB	23
23	RAJASTHAN	72
24	SIKKIM	1
25	TAMIL NADU	85
26	TELANGANA	3
27	UTTAR PRADESH	137
28	UTTARAKHAND	4
29	WEST BENGAL	47
	Total	1271
	Note: 167 No. of registered	167
	societies under MSCS, 2002	
	before 1986 and 9 Societies	
	after 1986 had been	
	deregistered	
	Grand Total	1438

List of Societies/Banks registered under MSCS Act, 2002