GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†3861 ANSWERED ON 19.03.2018

DEVELOPMENT OF TRIBAL AND RURAL CIRCUITS UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME

†3861. SHRI VISHNU DAYAL RAM: DR. UDIT RAJ:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether tourist circuits are being developed on priority basis under Swadesh Darshan and Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive (PRASAD) Scheme;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the steps taken by the Government for the development of tribal and rural circuits under the said scheme; and
- (d) the funds allocated and expenditure incurred thereunder in this regard so far, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI K.J. ALPHONS)

(a) to (b): Yes, Madam. The Ministry under its schemes of Swadesh Darshan- Integrated development of theme based tourist circuits and PRASHAD- National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive provides Central Financial Assistance to the State Governments/UT Administrations/Central Agencies for development of tourism infrastructure in the country.

Under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme, fifteen thematic circuits have been identified for development namely; North East Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit, Heritage Circuit, Sufi

Circuit and Tirthankar Circuit. Till date, the Ministry has sanctioned 67 projects under the above scheme for Rs.5638.87 crore.

Under PRASHAD Scheme 25 sites are identified for development namely Amaravati, Srisailam and Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh), Kamakhya (Assam), Patna and Gaya (Bihar), Dwarka and Somnath (Gujarat), Hazratbal and Katra (Jammu & Kashmir), Deogarh (Jharkhand), Guruvayoor (Kerala), Omkareshwar (Madhya Pradesh), Trimbakeshwar (Maharashtra), Puri (Odisha), Amritsar (Punjab), Ajmer (Rajasthan), Kanchipuram and Vellankani (Tamil Nadu), Varanasi, Ayodhya and Mathura (Uttar Pradesh), Badrinath and Kedarnath (Uttarakhand) and Belur (West Bengal). Till date, the Ministry has sanctioned 23 projects under the above scheme for Rs.687.92 crore.

(c) to (d): Rural and Tribal Circuits are among the fifteen circuits identified for development under Swadesh Darshan Scheme. The details of projects sanctioned under the rural and tribal circuits are annexed.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (c) TO (d) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†3861 ANSWERED ON 19.03.2018 REGARDING DEVELOPMENT OF TRIBAL AND RURAL CIRCUITS UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME.

THE DETAILS OF PROJECTS SANCTIONED UNDER RURAL AND TRIBAL CIRCUIT THEME OF SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME

(Amt. in Rs. Crore)

SI.	Name of	Name of	Project Name	Amt.	Amt.
No.	State	Circuit &		Sanctioned	Released
		Year			
1.	Bihar	Rural	Development of	44.65	8.93
		Circuit	Bhitiharwa -		
		(2017-18)	Chandrahia -		
			Turkaulia in		
			Bihar under Rural		
			Circuit theme of		
			Swadesh		
			Darshan Scheme		
2.	Nagaland	Tribal	Development of	97.36	72.05
		Circuit	Tribal Circuit		
		(2015-16)	Peren- Kohima-		
			Wokha, Nagaland		
3.	Chhattisgarh	Tribal	Development of	99.94	45.01
		Circuit	Tribal Tourism		
		(2015-16)	Circuit in		
			Jashpur-Kunkuri-		
			Mainpat-		
			Ambikapur-		
			Maheshpur -		
			Ratanpur-		
			Kurdar-		
			Sarodadadar		
			Gangrel-		
			Kondagaon-		
			Nathyanawagaon		
			-Jagdalpur		
			Chitrakoot-		
			Tirthgarh in		
			Chhattisgarh		
4.	Telangana	Tribal	Integrated	84.40	38.37
		Circuit	Development of		

		(2016-17)	Mulugu- Laknavaram- Medavaram- Tadvai- Damaravi- Mallur- Bogatha Waterfalls as Tribal Circuit in Telangana		
5.	Nagaland	Tribal circuit (2016-17)	Development of Tribal circuit (Mokokchung- Tuensang-Mon) in Nagaland	99.67	49.83
