GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3809

Number of Educational Institutions

3809. SHRI M. MURALI MOHAN:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of premier educational institutes viz., Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Central University, Girijana University, Agricultural University, All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS), National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM), Petroleum University have been sanctioned and set up in Andhra Pradesh as per the Andhra Pradesh Re-organisation Act, 2014; and
- (b) the details of the funds released to each institute during the last three years?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT

(DR. SATYA PAL SINGH)

(a) & (b): The details of premier educational institutions viz. IITs, IISERs, IIMs and Central Universities, under the purview of Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) are as follows;

In pursuant of Andhra Pradesh Re-organisation Act, 2014 & Budget Announcement 2014-15, IIT Tirupati has been established in the state of Andhra Pradesh. The Union Cabinet in its meeting held on 24.10.2017 inter-alia approved Rs. 1074.40 Cr for establishment of IIT-Tirupati in Phase A over a period of 3 years from 2017-18 to 2019-20. IIT-Madras is the Mentor Institute of IIT Tirupati. The Academic Session of the Institute has commenced from the year 2015-16.

IIM Vishakapatnam and IISER Tirupati have been established in the year 2015-16 under Andhra Pradesh Re-organisation Act, 2014 and are fully funded by Government of India.

The details of the funds released to the above mentioned institutes during last three years are as follows:

(Rs. In Crores)

S.No.	Name of the Institution	2015-16	2016-17	2017-18
1.	IIT Tirupati	18.00	28.99	43.94
2.	IISER Tirupati	13.00	17.96	19.00
3.	IIM Vishakapatnam	23.00	36.00	25.30
4.	Central University	There is no Central University in the State of Andhra Pradesh.		

Further, **Girijana University**, Agricultural University, All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS), National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM) and Petroleum University are under the purview of different Ministries as mentioned below and the details regarding these Institutes/Universities are available with the respective Ministry.

S.NO	Name of the Institution/ University	Ministry/ Department	
1.	Agricultural University	Department of Agricultural Research and Education(DARE)	
2.	All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS)	Ministry of Health and Family Welfare	
3.	National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM)	Ministry of Home Affairs	
4.	Petroleum University	Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas	
5	Girijana University		
