## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE)

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3784 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19<sup>th</sup> MARCH,2018

### **Indo-Asian Trade**

#### 3784. SHRI E.T. MOHAMMED BASHEER:

Will the Minister of COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्री ) be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of India's trade relations with Asian countries;
- (b) whether any joint ventures for trade have been agreed upon between India and Asian countries; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री सी. आर. चौधरी)

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY (SHRI C. R. CHAUDHARY)

(a) to (c): India is actively engaged with Asian countries with a view to enhancing mutual trade and economic cooperation. In this context, India has entered into various Free Trade Agreements (FTAs)/Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreements (CECAs)/Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreements(CEPA) and Preferential Trade Agreements (PTAs) with country/block of country, in Asia. The details of the FTAs/CECAs/CEPAs/PTAs entered into by India with Asian countries is given in Annexure-I.

- (i) India Sri Lanka Free Trade Agreement (ISLFTA)
- (ii) Agreement on SAFTA(India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Maldives and Afghanistan)
- (iii) India Nepal Treaty of Trade
- (iv) India Bhutan Agreement on Trade Commerce and Transit
- (v) India Thailand FTA Early Harvest Scheme (EHS)
- (vi) India Singapore CECA
- (vii) India ASEAN- CECA Trade in Goods, Services and Investment Agreement
  (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore,
  Thailand and Vietnam)
- (viii) India South Korea CEPA
- (ix) India Japan CEPA
- (x) India Malaysia CECA
- (xi) Asia Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA) (Bangladesh, China, India, Republic of Korea, Lao People's Democratic Republic and Sri Lanka)
- (xii) Global System of Trade Preferences (GSTP)(Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Cameroon, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Ecuador, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea, Guyana, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Tanzania, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yugoslavia, Zimbabwe)
- (xiii) SAARC Preferential Trading Agreement (SAPTA) (Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka)
- (xiv) India Afghanistan

\*\*\*\*