GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3719 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19.03.2018

Language Formula in Karnataka

3719. SHRI B.N. CHANDRAPPA:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Union Government is aware that the Government of Karnataka has implemented the Three Language Formula (TLF) and spending hundreds of crores of rupees to teach Hindi in all schools in the State and if so, the details thereof;

(b) whether the Government is also aware that lakhs of South Indian and other non-Hindi speaking people of various parts of the country are living in the National capital, Delhi and other Metro cities of the country and if so, the details of the number of such non-Hindi speaking people living in Delhi;

(c) whether it is true that lack of infrastructure to teach regional languages especially Southern languages, the Schools in Delhi have no choice but to teach Sanskrit and if so, the details thereof; and

(d) the steps taken / being taken by the Government to propagate regional languages especially South Indian languages in Delhi and other States adequately?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI UPENDRA KUSHWAHA)

(a) The State Government of Karnataka has informed that they have implemented Three Language Formula in the State. Hindi is introduced as one of the languages from sixth standard.

(b) As per the information provided by the Office of the Registrar General of India, out of the total population of 1,38,50,507 of Delhi, 26,39,664 persons are those whose mother tongue is other than Hindi, as per the 2001 Census. The detailed report is available at 'http://www.censusindia.gov.in/Census_Data_2001/Census_Data_Online/Language/data_on_lan guage.html'.

(c) The Government of National Capital Territory (GNCT) of Delhi has informed that the Three Language Formula is followed in all the Government Schools of Directorate of Education, GNCT of Delhi. The Directorate of Education, GNCT of Delhi provides 95% grant in aid to schools managed by linguistic Minority Trusts/ Associations including those of Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam languages. The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) offers 27 Indian languages, including all the southern Indian languages mentioned in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India in its affiliated schools. Schools affiliated to CBSE in Delhi run by societies like Delhi Tamil Education Association (8 schools), Andhra Education Society (4 schools), Kerala Education Society (4 schools) and Delhi Kannada Education Society (1 school) offer respective state language compulsorily.

(d) In order to encourage the study of modern Indian Languages and to promote harmony and equality among Indian Languages in the area of school education, the Government has adopted the 'Three Language Formula', as recommended in the National Policy on Education (NPE), 1968. However, the Education, being a subject in the Concurrent List of the Constitution and majority of schools being under the jurisdiction of the State/Union Territory Governments, it is for the respective State/Union Territory Governments to decide the language to be taught in their schools as per the three language formula.
