GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3419 TO BE ANSWERED ON 15.03.2018

ELECTRIFICATION OF VILLAGES UNDER DDUGJY

3419. SHRI NISHIKANT DUBEY:

SHRI RAJESH PANDEY:

SHRI RAM MOHAN NAIDU KINJARAPU:

DR. NARAMALLI SIVA PRASAD:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Union Government is determined to provide electricity to all villages in the country under the Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana (DDUGJY);

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) the number of un-electrified villages in the country including Andhra Pradesh and Jharkhand, State/UT-wise; and

(d) the steps being taken by the Government to provide electricity to the remaining villages and the time frame for the same, State/UT-wise including Andhra Pradesh and Jharkhand?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI R. K. SINGH)

(a) to (d): Government of India, under Deendayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana (DDUGJY), has targeted to electrify all the remaining un-electrified villages across the country. As reported by States, there were 18,452 un-electrified census villages in the country as on 01.04.2015. Only 881 census villages remained unelectrified as on 08.03.2018. It is targeted to electrify all the remaining unelectrified census villages by 1st May, 2018.

There was no un-electrified village reported by the State of Andhra Pradesh as on 1st April, 2015. The State of Jharkhand has reported that there were 2525 un-electrified census villages, as on 1st April, 2015; and all have been electrified excluding 58 villages found un-inhabited. The State-wise details are given at Annexure.

ANNEXURE

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3419 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 15.03.2018.

State-wise status of electrification of un-electrified villages

As on 08.03.2018

SI. No.	States	Un-electrified villages as on 28.02.2018 out of 18,452 reported on 01.04.2015
1	Arunachal Pradesh	665
2	Chhattisgarh	92
3	Jammu & Kashmir	70
4	Madhya Pradesh	21
5	Manipur	2
6	Mizoram	2
7	Odisha	7
8	Uttarakhand	22
Total		881
