GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3323 TO BE ANSWERED ON 15.03.2018

SEATS IN COURSES CONDUCTED BY FILM EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS

3323: SHRI R. GOPALAKRISHNAN

Will the Minister of INFORMATION & BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the film education institutions such as Film and Television Institute of India (FTII) and other private film institutes have a very low number of seats in their courses, especially the technical courses;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the reasons for maintaining such low number of seats;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to increase the number of seats in these film institutes; and
- (d) If so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING [(COL RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (Retd.)-

(a) & (b) Film and Television Institute of India (FTII), Pune and Satyajit Ray Film and Television Institute (SRFTI), Kolkata are two institutes under the purview of Ministry of Information & Broadcasting. The film-specialization courses offered at FTII and SRFTI are concerned with advancing proficiency in film production and learning the intricacies of all aspects of filmmaking through intensive projects, rather than exploring the theory -focused studies. With the hands on skill development focus of the curriculum, the students are constantly mentored by the faculty members on a one to one basis to learn the idioms of film making by undergoing the complex process of film production, which accounts for nearly 80% of the course contents. Thus maintaining low number of seats is justifiable.

(c) & (d) SRFTI has recently started 2 years post graduate diploma course on Electronics & Digital Media (E&DM) with specialization in (i) Writing for electronic & digital media (ii) Electronic & digital media management (iii) ·Videography for electronic & digital media (iv) Producing for electronic & digital media (v) Editing for electronic & digital media (vi) Sound for electronic & digital media with effect from 14.08.2017.
