## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3161 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14-03-2018

## **Minority Status to Certain National Community**

3161. SHRI KUNWAR HARIBANSH SINGH: SHRI SUDHEER GUPTA: SHRI T. RADHAKRISHNAN: SHRI ASHOK SHANKARRAO CHAVAN: SHRI GAJANAN KIRTIKAR: SHRI A. ANWHAR RAAJHAA: SHRI NARANBHAI KACHHADIYA: SHRI BIDYUT BARAN MAHATO: SHRI S.R. VIJAYAKUMAR:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the norms adopted by the Government to provide minority status to a certain national community;
- (b) the number of communities identified as minorities at national level at present;
- (c) whether the Government has received some proposal from State Governments, people's representatives and different communities to extend minority status to certain communities:
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the response of the Union Government thereto; and
- (e) the steps taken/being taken by the Government to amend the provisions of National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992 to include some more communities as a minority community?

## ANSWER MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

- (a) & (b): As per Section 2(c) of National Commission for Minorities (NCM) Act, 1992, "Minority" means a community notified as such by the Central Government. Central Government has so far notified six communities viz. Muslims, Sikhs, Buddhists, Christians, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains as "Minority communities" in the context of India as a whole under Section 2(c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.
- (c) to (e): Several proposals from various castes and communities requesting for according minority status were received in this Ministry and disposed off. Such proposals for notifying a community as minority community by the Central Government involve consultations with various stakeholders. It does not require an amendment to the provisions of National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.