GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3030 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14.03.2018

MISSIONS IN SMALL COUNTRIES

3030. SHRI S. P. MUDDAHANUME GOWDA: SHRI C. S. PUTTA RAJU:

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether despite India's ambitious global plans, the Government has failed to set up diplomatic missions in a large number of small countries and island nations;
- (b) if so, the countries and island nations where India does not have its own diplomatic missions;
- (c) whether in the last decade along, at least 17 countries have opened new embassies in India but India has not reciprocated so far to most of those countries; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the reasons thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS [GEN. (DR) V. K. SINGH (RETD)]

(a) The Government of India is expanding ties with small countries and island nations based on its assessment of various relevant factors. The opening of more Missions in such states is under active contemplation.

(b) The countries where India does not have resident Mission are: Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Gabon, Gambia (Islamic Republic of the), Georgia, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Kiribati, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia (Federated State of), Monaco, Montenegro, Nauru, Nicaragua, Palau, Paraguay, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Swaziland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, The Holy See, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uruguay and Vanuatu. All these countries are covered by concurrent accreditation.

(c) & (d) Yes. Since 2007, the following countries have opened new Embassies in India: Equatorial Guinea, Latvia, Guatemala, Bolivia, Estonia, Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Niger, Togo, Costa Rica, Burundi, Macedonia, Benin, Guinea, Malawi, Malta, Iceland, Botswana, Papua & New Guinea, Bahrain, Georgia and

Lithuania. Of these, India does not have resident Mission in Equatorial Guinea, Guinea, Latvia, Lithuania, Bolivia, Estonia, Republic of Congo, Togo, Costa Rica, Burundi, Benin, Macedonia and Georgia. Proposal to open new resident diplomatic Missions, including in countries which have resident diplomatic Missions in India, is currently under active consideration.