GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †2923

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 13TH MARCH, 2018/ PHALGUNA 22, 1939 (SAKA)
INCLUSION OF LANGUAGES

†2923. SHRI HARI MANJHI:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the prescribed norms for inclusion of languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India has not been complied with and if so, the reasons therefor;
- (b) the manner in which the Government differentiates between a vernacular and a new language before granting it the status of language;
- (c) the details of the languages included so far in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution, State-wise; and
- (d) the details of advantages to be extended to the language after its inclusion in the Eighth Schedule?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

- (a): As the evolution of dialects and languages is dynamic, influenced by socio-eco-political developments, it is difficult to fix any criterion for languages, whether to distinguish them from dialects, or for inclusion in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India. Thus, both the earlier attempts, through the Pahwa (1996) and Sitakant Mohapatra (2003) Committees to evolve such fixed criteria have not borne fruit.
- (b): "Language" is a socio-cultural-geographical construct in the sense that all languages begin as dialects /varieties/mother tongues but due to

various socio-economic-political reasons one of the varieties of any language develops into or acquires the status of a standard variety; "language" may thus be defined as the standard variety, so that mother tongue of those speaking related varieties may be deemed to be the standard variety. There are no linguistic criteria for differentiating between a language and a dialect/vernacular. Socially, a dialect/vernacular may gradually evolve into a language and acquire the status of a language.

- (c): There are 22 languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution. These are as under:
- (1) Assamese, (2) Bengali, (3) Gujarati, (4) Hindi, (5) Kannada, (6) Kashmiri,
 (7) Konkani, (8) Malayalam, (9) Manipuri, (10) Marathi, (11) Nepali, (12)
 Odia, (13) Punjabi, (14) Sanskrit, (15) Sindhi, (16) Tamil, (17) Telugu, (18)

Urdu (19) Bodo, (20) Santhali, (21) Maithili and (22) Dogri.

Several of these languages are spoken in several States, and their use is not restricted by State boundaries.

(d): The benefits flow from the Official Language Resolution, 1968, that "all the languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution and English shall be permitted as alternative media for the All India and higher Central Services examinations after ascertaining the views of the Union Public Service Commission". In addition, related Sahitya Akademies may institute awards, special promotion programmes etc. at their discretion.
