GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2725 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12TH MARCH, 2018

MoU ON CULTURAL EXCHANGE PROGRAMME

†2725. SHRI KIRTI AZAD: SHRI SANJAY ARIBHAU JADHAV:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of States which have signed Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) under the Cultural Exchange Programme;
- (b) the details of cultural programmes for children included thereunder;
- (c) whether the Government has prepared any action plan to conduct post implementation survey to assess the impact of the said programme on national unity; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) FOR CULTURE AND MINISTER OF STATE FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST & CLIMATE CHANGE

(DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

- (a) & (b) There is no scheme being operated by Ministry of Culture wherein Memorandum of Understandings (MoUs) are signed between States. However, to protect, preserve & promote various forms of folk art and culture throughout the country, the Government of India has set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) with headquarters at Patiala, Nagpur, Udaipur, Allahabad, Kolkata, Dimapur and Thanjavur. These ZCCs organize various cultural festivals and programmes on regular basis in all the States/UTs of India and the cultural troupes are engaged from different States to perform in the major festivals under National Cultural Exchange Programme (NCEP).
- (c) No, Madam.
- (d) Does not arise.