LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2666 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12th MARCH, 2018

COCO BY COMPANY OFFICIALS

2666. DR. GOKARAJU GANGA RAJU :

पेट्रो लयम एवं प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

(a) whether it is a fact that the Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) are in practice of running Company Owned Company Operated (COCO) petrol pumps through company officials;

(b) if so, the details thereof along with the reaction of the Government thereto regarding viability of the said preposition indicating the investments made by OMCs; and

(c) the number of such COCO Petrol Pumps being operated/managed by Company officials in the country, State/ UT-wise and OMC-wise?

ANSWER

पेट्रो लयम एवं प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री (श्री धर्मेन्द्र प्रधान)

MINISTER OF PETROLEUM & NATURAL GAS (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

(a)&(b) - Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) operate some of their strategic retail outlets in the country on Company Owned Company Operated (COCOs) basis. The day to day operations of such COCOs are under the supervision of a Company Official. The staff on the forecourt is provided by the Service Provider who is on tenure-based contract with the OMCs.

Investment made by OMCs in these COCOs depends on factors like market type (urban/highway), plot dimensions, allied customer amenities, sales potential of the site, facilities/equipments planned etc. These investments are made based on the benchmark Internal Rate of Return (IRR) norms.

(c) - The State-wise/UT-wise details of permanent COCOs Retail Outlets being operated by company officials as on 01.01.2018 is given in the Annexure.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (c) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.2666 for 12.3.2018 asked by Dr. Gokaraju Ganga Raju, Hon`ble MP regarding COCO by Company Officials.

Details of State/UT wise and OMC wise COCO Petrol Pumps operated/managed by OMCs as on 01.01.2018

States	BPCL	IOCL	HPCL
Andaman & Nicobar	0	0	0
Andhra Pradesh	23	7	24
Arunachal Pradesh	0	0	0
Assam	1	0	0
Bihar	6	2	0
Chandigarh	1	1	1
Chattisgarh	4	2	4
Dadra Nagar Haveli	0	0	0
Daman & Diu	0	0	0
Delhi	4	5	3
Goa	0	0	0
Gujarat	11	3	24
Haryana	7	3	7
Himachal Pradesh	0	0	1
Jammu & Kashmir	0	0	0
Jharkhand	4	1	0
Karnataka	14	14	8
Kerala	12	3	2
Lakshadweep	0	0	0
Madhya Pradesh	7	1	7
Maharashtra	27	8	27
Manipur	0	0	0
Meghalaya	0	0	0
Mizoram	0	0	0
Nagaland	0	0	0
Odisha	7	3	5
Puducherry	0	0	0
Punjab	5	6	7
Rajasthan	20	4	9
Sikkim	0	0	0
Tamil Nadu	18	11	17
Telangana	11	7	13
Tripura	0	0	0
Uttar Pradesh	17	7	17
Uttrakhand	1	0	0
West Bengal	10	17	6
All-India	210	105	182