GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2455 TO BE ANSWERED ON 9TH MARCH, 2018

EYE BANKS

2455. SHRI HARISH CHANDRA ALIAS HARISH DWIVEDI:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of eye banks in the country, State/UT-wise;
- (b) whether any target has been set for eye donation for every year; and
- (c) if so, the details of the assistance received by these eye banks during the last three years and the current year, State/UT wise?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SMT. ANUPRIYA PATEL)

- (a): Based on the information furnished by States/UTs, a statement showing total number of registered eye banks in the country is given at **Annexure.**
- (b): A minimum target of 50,000 has been set for collection of donated eyes annually under the National Programme for Control of Blindness & Visual Impairment (NPCB&VI) in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.
- (c): Eye donation is a voluntary activity regulated under the Transplantation of Human Organ Act, 1994. However, there is a provision for recurring assistance of Rs.2,000/- per pair of donated eye to identified Eye Banks towards the cost of consumables including preservation material and media, transportation/ Petrol Oil Lubricants (POL) and contingencies through the respective District Health Societies in States/UTs. The details of assistance received by the Eye Banks from respective District Health Societies in States/UTs are not maintained centrally.

Annexure No. of Registered Eye Banks in the country (State/Ut-wise)

S.No.	States/Uts	No. of Eye Banks
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	0
2	Andhra Pradesh	11
3	Arunachal Pradesh	0
4	Assam	7
5	Bihar	1
6	Chhattisgarh	4
7	Chandigarh	3
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	0
9	Daman & Diu	0
10	Delhi	9
11	Goa	1
12	Gujarat	21
13	Haryana	12
14	Himachal Pradesh	2
15	Jammu & Kashmir	1
16	Jharkhand	6
17	Karnataka	25
18	Kerala	2
19	Lakshadweep	0
20	Madhya Pradesh	33
21	Maharashtra	73
22	Manipur	1
23	Meghalaya	0
24	Mizoram	1
25	Nagaland	0
26	Odisha	6
27	Puducherry	3
28	Punjab	9
29	Rajasthan	6
30	Sikkim	0
31	Tamil Nadu	26
32	Telangana	5
33	Tripura	1
34	Uttar Pradesh	33
35	Uttarakhand	1
36	West Bengal	13
	Total	316