GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2439 TO BE ANSWERED ON 9TH MARCH, 2018

NEW MEDICAL COLLEGES

2439. SHRI BHOLA SINGH: PROF. PREM SINGH CHANDUMAJRA: SHRI KUNDARIYA MOHAN BHAI KALYANJI BHAI: SHRI DEVJI M. PATEL:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government proposes to set up new medical colleges in various Lok Sabha Constituencies;

(b) if so, the details thereof and the funds earmarked for the purpose, State/UTwise;

(c) whether the present hospitals are proposed to be upgraded to medical colleges;

(d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the manner in which infrastructure would be created for new medical colleges, State/ UT-wise including Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan; and

(e) the criteria being adopted for selecting the locations for setting up of these new medical colleges?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SHRI ASHWINI KUMAR CHOUBEY)

(a) to (e): This Ministry administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme for Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals.

Under Phase-I of the scheme, 58 districts in 20 States/UT have been identified to establish new Medical Colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals. Out of these, 56 have been approved till date. Funds to the tune of Rs.5188.42 crore have been released to the State/UT Governments for the approved districts under the Scheme. The list of 58 identified Districts is at Annexure-A.

Under Phase-II of this Scheme, the requirement of 24 new medical colleges has been identified for ensuring the availability of one medical college in every 3 Parliamentary Constituencies and one Government medical college in each State. The location of these 24 new Medical Colleges will be selected on Challenge Mode. The list of identified blocks is at Annexure-B. This Phase-II will commence from the financial year 2018-19.

S. N.	State/UT	No. of District/Referral Hospitals	Districts
1	A & N Islands	1	Port Blair
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Naharlagun
	Assam		Diphu
2		4	Dhubri
3		4	Nagaon
			North Lakhimpur
			Purnia
4	Bihar	3	Samastipur
			Saran(Chhapara)
~	Chhattisgarh	2	Rajnandgaon
5		2	Sarguja (Ambikapur)
6	Haryana	1	Bhiwani
			Chamba
7	Himachal Pradesh	3	Hamirpur
			Nahan (Sirmour)
			Dumka
8	Jharkhand	3	Hazaribagh
			Palamu
			Anantnag
			Baramulla
9	Jammu & Kashmir	5	Doda
			Kathua
			Rajouri
	Madhya Pradesh		Chhindwara
			Datia
			Khandwa
10		7	Ratlam
			Shivpuri
			Shahdol
		-	Vidisha
11	Maharashtra	1	Gondia
12	Meghalaya	1	West Garo Hills, Tura
13	Mizoram	1	Falkawn
14	Nagaland	1	Naga Hospital
	Odisha		Balasore
		5	Baripada (Mayurbhanj)
15			Bolangir
			Koraput
			Puri
16	Punjab	1	SAS Nagar
	Rajasthan		Sikar
17		7	Barmer
±/			Bharatpur

State-wise List of 58 identified New Medical Colleges under the Scheme

			Bhilwara
			Churu
			Dungarpur
			Pali
	West Bengal	5	Birbhum (Rampur Hat)
			Cooch behar
18			Diamond harbour, South 24
10			Paraganas
			Purulia
			Raiganj, North Dinajpur
	Uttar Pradesh	5	Faizabad
			Bahraich
19			Basti
			Firozabad
			Shahjahanpur
20	Uttarakhand	1	Almora
	Total	58	

S. No.	State		Identified Blocks	Parliamentary Constituencies covered under the Block
1.	Bihar	1.	Block-1	Sheohar
				Sitamarhi
				Madhubani
		2	Block-2	Jhanjharpur
				Supaul
				Araria
		3	Block-3	Vaishali
				Gopalganj
				Siwan
		4	Block-4	Pataliputra
			DIOCK-4	Arrah
				Buxar
		5	Block-5	Jamui
2.	Jharkhand	6	Block-1	Chatra
		U	DIOCK	Kodarma
				Giridih
		7	Block-2	Singhbhum
				Khunti
				Lohardaga
3.	Madhya Pradesh	8	Block-1	Damoh
				Khajuraho
				Satna
4.	Odisha	9	Block-1	Bhadrak
				Jajpur
				Dhenkanal
5.	Rajasthan	10	Block-1	KarauliDholpur
				Dausa
				Tonk-SawaiMadhopur
6.	Uttar Pradesh	11	Block-1	Etah
				Badaun
				Aonla
		12	Block-2	Hardoi
				Misrikh
				Unnao
		13	Block-3	Amethi
				Sultanpur
				Pratapgarh
		14	Block-4	Fatehpur
				Kaushambi
				Phulpur
		15	Block-5	Sharavasti
				Gonda
				Domariyaganj
		16	Block-6	Ghosi

List of 24 Blocks identified under Phase-II

				Salempur
				Ballia
		17	Block-7	Jaunpur
				Machhlishahr
				Ghazipur
		18	Block-8	Mirzapur
				Robertsganj
7.	West Bengal	19	Block-1	Dum Dum
				Barasat
				Barrackpur
		20	Block-2	Howrah
				Uluberia
				Serampore
		21	Block-3	Hooghly
				Arambagh
		22	Block-4	Kanthi
				Ghatal
				Jhargram
		23	Block-5	Tamluk
8.	Sikkim	24	Block-1	Gangtok