GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †1775

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 06TH MARCH, 2018/ PHALGUNA 15, 1939 (SAKA) FORMATION OF NEW STATES

†1775. SHRI KIRTI AZAD:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of States formed after independence of the country and the basis of formation of new States in the country; and
- (b) whether the Government has received demands from various organisations and the public for formation of Mithila State and if so, the details thereof and the reaction of the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

(a) & (b): The list of the States formed in India, as per the Constitution, after independence is annexed. Parliament considers the proposal of formation of States on the basis of merits of each case. The Parliament is empowered by Article 3 of the Constitution to form a new State by separation of territory from any State or by uniting two or more States or parts of States or by uniting any territory to a part of any State. Demands have been received for formation of Mithila State from various quarters. However, no such proposal is presently under consideration.

S.No.	Name of the State
01	ANDHRA PRADESH
02	ARUNACHAL PRADESH
03	ASSAM
04	BIHAR
05	CHHATISHGARH
06	GOA
07	GUJARAT
08	HARYANA
09	HIMACHAL PRADESH
10	JAMMU& KASHMIR
11	JHARKHAND
12	KARNATAKA
13	KERALA
14	MADHYA PRADESH
15	MAHARASHTRA
16	MANIPUR
17	MEGHALAYA
18	MIZORAM
19	NAGALAND
20	ORISSA
21	PUNJAB
22	RAJASTHAN
23	SIKKIM
24	TAMIL NADU
25	TELANGANA
26	TRIPURA
27	UTTARAKHAND
28	UTTAR PRADESH
29	WEST BENGAL