## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1176 TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.02.2018

# JUVENILE JUSTICE COURTS/BOARDS

#### 1176 SHRI ABHISHEK SINGH

Will the Minister of WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Juvenile Justice Courts/Boards in the country, particularly in Chhattisgarh, State/UT-wise;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to establish more such courts/boards in the States/UTs, particularly in Chhattisgarh; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof along with proposed timeline for implementation?

#### ANSWER

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT (DR. VIRENDRA KUMAR)

- (a) There are 701 Juvenile Justice Boards (JJBs) in the country which are supported under the Integrated Child Protection Scheme (ICPS) of the Ministry of Women and Child Development. The State/UT-wise details including State of Chhattisgarh is **annexed**.
- (b) & (c) The primary responsibility of setting up the JJBs vests with the State Governments/UT Administrations concerned. Section 4 (1) of the Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Act, 2015, provides that the State Government shall constitute for every district one or more JJBs for exercising the powers and discharging its functions relating to children in conflict with law and this is an on going process.

\*\*\*\*

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.1176 for 09.02.2017 raised by Shri Abhishek Singh regarding Juvenile Justice Courts/Boards.

<u>The number of Juvenile Justice Boards in the country which are supported under ICPS,</u> <u>State/UT-wise including State of Chhattisgarh</u>

S. No.	Name of the State/UT	No. of Juvenile Justice Boards
1	Andhra Pradesh	13
2	Arunachal Pradesh	21
3	Assam	27
4	Bihar	38
5	Chhattisgarh	27
6	Goa	2
7	Gujarat	33
8	Haryana	21
9	Himachal Pradesh	12
10	Jammu and Kashmir	22
11	Jharkhand	24
12	Karnataka	30
13	Kerala	14
14	Madhya Pradesh	51
15	Maharashtra	36
16	Manipur	9
17	Meghalaya	11
18	Mizoram	8
19	Nagaland	11
20	Odisha	34
21	Punjab	22
22	Rajasthan	34
23	Sikkim	4
24	Tamil Nadu	32
25	Tripura	8
26	Uttar Pradesh	75
27	Uttarakhand	13
28	West Bengal	23
29	Telangana	31
30	Andaman & Nicobar	3
31	Chandigarh	1
32	Dadra and Nagar Haveli	1
33	Daman and Diu	2
34	Lakshadweep	1
35	National Capital Territory of Delhi	3
36	Puducherry	4
	Total	701