GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 87 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.02.2018

DISHA

*87. SHRI B. SRIRAMULU: SHRI TEJ PRATAP SINGH YADAV:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has formed District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committee known as DISHA in all the districts for monitoring effective implementation of rural development schemes and if so, the details thereof:
- (b) whether DISHA provides for a role of Members of Parliament (MPs) and other elected representatives in monitoring major programmes and if so, the details thereof including MPs nominated as members/ chairpersons;
- (c) whether quarterly meetings have been conducted under DISHA to review various schemes and if so, the details thereof including the outcome of meetings, State/UT-wise summary report;
- (d) whether the Government has evaluated the functioning of DISHA and if so, the details thereof along with achievements made, shortcomings noticed, changes, if any, required in the guidelines, etc.; and
- (e) the steps taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER MINISTER OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

Statement referred to in reply to Lok Sabha Starred Question Number 87 for reply on 8th February 2018 regarding DISHA

- (a) &(b): Yes, Madam. District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committees (DISHA) have been constituted under the chairpersonship of Members of Parliament with a view to fulfill the objective of ensuring better coordination among all the elected representatives in Parliament, State Legislatures and Local Governments (Panchayati Raj Institutions, Municipal Bodies), in monitoring the progress of major projects aimed at socio- economic transformation at the district level. Members of Parliament are nominated as Chairperson/Co-Chairperson of the DISHA Committees .The details of Chairperson/co-chairperson of district level DISHA Committees can be accessed at http://rural.nic.in/sites/default/files/updated list chairman 02022018.pdf.
- (c): The Guidelines provide for the meetings of the DISHA to be organized at least once in every Quarter. According to status uploaded on DISHA Website, 772 DISHA meetings were conducted during 2016-17 and 532 meetings during 2017-18 so far. State authorities are being reminded on continuous basis for convening the meetings on regular basis. State/UT-wise details of DISHA meetings conducted during the year 2016-17 and 2017-18 are given in **Annexure.** Proceedings of the meetings uploaded by districts can be accessed at http://ruraldiksha.nic.in/DISHA/vigi MoMreport.aspx.
- (d) & (e): As the programme is at its formation stage, Government has not mooted any proposal for evaluation of the functioning of DISHA. For strengthening information technology interface, DISHA Dashboard has been launched by the Prime Minister on 11th October 2017. Login/ Password has been shared with all the Members of Parliament to facilitate effective monitoring of progress of schemes in DISHA meetings. Next step includes integration of Meeting Management Software with DISHA Dashboard.

Annexure referred to in part (c) of the reply to the Lok Sabha Starred Question 87 for reply on 08.02.2018

State/UT-wise details of DISHA meetings conducted during 2016-17 & 2017-18

Sl. No.	Name of State/Uts	Number of Meet	ings Conducted
		2016-17	2017-18
1	Andhra Pradesh	10	3
2	Arunachal Pradesh	14	5
3	Assam	38	21
4	Bihar	46	13
5	Chhandigarh	0	0
6	Chhattisgarh	67	47
7	Delhi	0	0
8	Goa	0	3
9	Gujarat	46	30
10	Haryana	33	26
11	Himachal Pradesh	16	6
12	Jammu & Kashmir	3	3
13	Jharkhand	45	35
14	Karnataka	51	28
15	Kerala	33	28
16	Madhya Pradesh	68	34
17	Maharashtra	44	37
18	Manipur	2	1
19	Meghalaya	8	9
20	Mizoram	12	16
21	Nagaland	0	0
22	Odisha	32	18
23	Punjab	7	12
24	Rajasthan	71	43
25	Sikkim	3	C
26	Telangana	3	11
27	Tamil Nadu	3	1
28	Tripura	8	ϵ
29	Uttarakhand	17	28
30	Uttar Pradesh	84	66
31	West Bengal	6	2
32	Andaman & Nicobar	2	C
33	Daman & Diu	0	C
34	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	0	(
35	Lakshadweep	0	C
36	Puducherry	0	0
	Total	772	532