GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO.*433 TO BE ANSWERED ON 26th MARCH 2018

National Eligibility and Entrance Test.

*433. SHRI GAJANAN KIRTIKAR: SHRI CH. MALLA REDDY:

Will the Minister of **HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that the students are facing problems in attending the National Eligibility and Entrance Test (NEET) due to shortage of centres as well as the locations of centres at far away places;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the steps taken/being taken by the Government to increase NEET centres in the country;
- (c) whether the Government also plans to conduct NEET and Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) twice a year to give an opportunity to the students to bring out their best performance; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI PRAKASH JAVADEKAR)

(a) to (d): A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO THE PARTS (a) TO (d) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.*433 FOR ANSWER ON 26.03.2018 ASKED BY SHRI GAJANAN KIRTIKAR AND SHRI CH. MALLA REDDY, MP, LOK SABHA REGARDING NATIONAL ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRANCE TEST.

(a) and (b): The Central Board of Secondary Examination (CBSE), which conducts the National Eligibility-Cum-Entrance Test (NEET), has not received any such information. The CBSE has, however, increased the number of NEET Examination centres from 107 in 2017 to 150 in 2018. All the District Headquarters, where there were more than 4000 candidates in NEET-UG, 2017, Examination centres have been given for NEET-UG 2018. List of such centres is placed at **Annexure-I**.

(c) and (d) The Government has decided to setup a National Testing Agency (NTA) as a Society registered under the Indian Societies Registration Act, 1860 as an autonomous and self-sustained premier testing organization to conduct all entrance examinations for higher education institutions in the country. The NTA would initially conduct those entrance examinations which are currently being conducted by the CBSE. Other examinations will be taken up gradually after NTA is fully geared up. It will conduct examination in the online mode twice a year in order to give adequate opportunity to candidates to bring out their best, and develop Standard Operating Procedure (SOPs) for handling any glitches that may arise in the course of conducting online examinations. In order to serve the requirements of the rural students, it would locate the Centres at Sub-District/District level and as far as possible would undertake hands-on training to the students. NAT would conduct first set of examinations from the year 2019 onward.

Annexure-I

List referred to in reply to the part (a) & (b) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 433 for answer on 26.03.2018 asked by Shri Gajanan Kirtikar and Shri Ch. Malla Reddy, MP, Lok Sabha regarding National Eligibility and Entrance Test.

State Name	District Name	Candidate Count as per NEET-UG, 2017	Exam City for NEET- UG, 2018
Andhra Pradesh	Chittoor	4374	TIRUPATI (District HQ for Chittur)
Andhra Pradesh	Guntur	5448	Guntur
Andhra Pradesh	Krishna	4261	VIJAYAWADA (District HQ for Krishna)
Andhra Pradesh	Kurnool	5541	Kurnool
Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam	4441	Visakhapatnam
Bihar	Patna	9175	Patna
Delhi	North West	4154	North Delhi
Delhi	South	4275	South
Delhi	South West	4283	South Delhi
Gujarat	Ahmadabad	7349	Ahmadabad
Gujarat	Rajkot	4677	Rajkot
Gujarat	Surat	7230	Surat
Karnataka	Bangalore	14902	Bangalore
Karnataka	Belgaum	4307	Belgaum
Karnataka	Mysore	4043	Mysore
Kerala	Alappuzha	7111	Alappuzha
Kerala	Ernakulam	9411	Ernakulam
Kerala	Kannur	7152	Kannur
Kerala	Kollam	11090	Kollam
Kerala	Kottayam	6126	Kottayam
Kerala	Kozhikode	11893	Kozhikode

Kerala	Malappuram	12454	Malappuram
Kerala	Palakkad	5590	Palakkad
Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram	13789	Thiruvananthapuram
Kerala	Thrissur	8641	Thrissur
Maharashtra	Ahmadnagar	6210	Ahmadnagar
Maharashtra	Aurangabad	6942	Aurangabad
Maharashtra	Bid	6810	Bid
Maharashtra	Buldana	5388	Buldana
Maharashtra	Latur	4833	Latur
Maharashtra	Mumbai	7357	Mumbai
Maharashtra	Mumbai Suburban	7011	Mumbai Suburban
Maharashtra	Nagpur	8389	Nagpur
Maharashtra	Nanded	7997	Nanded
Maharashtra	Nashik	6402	Nashik
Maharashtra	Pune	12506	Pune
Maharashtra	Solapur	5197	Solapur
Maharashtra	Thane	13294	Thane
Odisha	Khordha	4609	BHUBANESHWAR (District HQ for Khurda)
Rajasthan	Jaipur	13139	Jaipur
Rajasthan	Jodhpur	4060	Jodhpur
Rajasthan	Sikar	5159	Sikar
Tamil Nadu	Chennai	8961	Chennai
Tamil Nadu	Kancheepuram	4906	Kancheepuram
Tamil Nadu	Madurai	4046	Madurai
Tamil Nadu	Salem	5131	Salem

Tamil Nadu	Thiruvallur	5170	Thiruvallur
Tamil Nadu	Vellore	4917	Vellore
Telangana	Hyderabad	8230	Hyderabad
Telangana	Ranga Reddy	8098	Ranga Reddy
Telangana	Warangal	4860	Warangal
Uttar Pradesh	Allahabad	5358	Allahabad
Uttar Pradesh	Ghaziabad	4496	Ghaziabad
Uttar Pradesh	Gorakhpur	4381	Gorakhpur
Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	7414	Lucknow
Uttar Pradesh	Varanasi	4757	Varanasi
West Bengal	Barddhaman	5588	Barddhaman
West Bengal	Kolkata	6001	Kolkata
West Bengal	North Twenty Four Parganas	7960	North Twenty Four Parganas
West Bengal	Paschim Medinipur	4001	Kharagpur (District HQ for Pashim Medinapur)
West Bengal	South Twenty Four Parganas	4271	South Twenty Four Parganas
