GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 931 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 21.12.2017)

INSTALLATION OF TV TRANSMITTERS

931. DR. KIRIT SOMAIYA:

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of TV transmitters (low and high) installed in the country, State-wise ;
- (b) whether the Government has chalked out any plan for installation of TV transmitters in various States;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, Statewise;
- (d) whether any time limit has been fixed for this purpose; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING

{COL RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (Retd.)}

(a) to (e) Prasar Bharati has informed that Doordarshan has 230 High Power Transmitters (HPTs) (211 analog and 19 digital) and 801 analog Low Power Transmitters (LPTs) in its terrestrial TV network. Details of State/UT-wise HPTs & LPTs are given at **Annexure-I.**

As part of sanctioned 12th Plan schemes, 5 new High Power Transmitters are planned in J&K. In addition, 45 Digital Terrestrial Transmitters (DTT), at existing transmitter locations are also approved in various parts of the country. State/UT-wise list of these transmitters is given at **Annexure-II**.

Installation of DTT at Srinagar has been completed. The time schedule for completion for 5 digital ready analog HPT projects in J & K is about 2 years.

The DTT pilot is launched in 16 cities and remaining 44 DTTs have been planned after review of the technology.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (e) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 931 FOR ANSWER ON 21-12-2017

DOORDARSHAN TRANSMITTERS (HPTs & LPTs)			
S.No.	STATE / UT	Number of Transmitter	
1.	ANDHARA PRADESH	HPTs (10)	LPTs (43)
2.	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	HPTs (2)	LPTs (3)
3.	ASSAM	HPTs (7)	LPTs (21)
4.	BIHAR	HPTs (7)	LPTs (30)
5.	CHHATTISGARH	HPTs (6)	LPTs (15)
6.	GOA	HPTs (2)	
7.	GUJARAT	HPTs (12)	LPTs (54)
8.	HARYANA	HPTs (3)	LPTs (20)
9.	HIMACHAL PRADESH	HPTs (5)	LPTs (8)
10.	JHARKHAND	HPTs (6)	LPTs (19)
11.	JAMMU & KASHMIR	HPTs (19)	LPTs (18)
12.	KARNATAKA	HPTs (13)	LPTs (49)
13.	KERALA	HPTs (8)	LPTs (22)
14.	MADHYA PRADESH	HPTs (14)	LPTs (60)
15.	MAHARASHTRA	HPTs (15)	LPTs (88)
16.	MANIPUR	HPTs (3)	LPT (1)
17.	MEGHALAYA	HPTs (4)	LPTs (3)
18.	MIZORAM	HPTs (3)	LPTs (2)
19.	NAGALAND	HPTs (3)	LPTs (3)
20.	ODISHA	HPTs (8)	LPTs (69)
21.	PUNJAB	HPTs (8)	LPTs (5)
22.	RAJASTHAN	HPTs (11)	LPTs (69)
23.	SIKKIM	HPTs (2)	
24.	TAMIL NADU	HPTs (10)	LPTs (52)
25.	TELANGANA	HPTs (5)	LPTs (36)
26.	TRIPURA	HPTs (2)	LPTs (6)
27.	UTTAR PRADESH	HPTs (19)	LPTs (62)
28.	UTTARAKHAND	HPTs (2)	LPTs (17)
29.	WEST BENGAL	HPTs (14)	LPTs (17)
30.	A. & N. ISLANDS	HPTs (2)	LPTs (2)
31.	CHANDIGARH		LPT (1)
32.	DADRA & NAGAR HAVELI		LPT (1)
33.	DAMAN & DIU		LPTs (2)
34.	DELHI	HPTs (4)	
35.	LAKSHADWEEP		LPT (1)
36.	PUDUCHERRY	HPT (1)	LPTs (2)

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (e) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 931 FOR ANSWER ON 21-12-2017

Setting up of Transmitters in Doordarshan Network				
State/ UT	45 digital HPTs	5 HPTs		
Andhra Pradesh	Vijayawada			
	Tirupati			
Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar			
Bihar	Muzaffarpur			
Chhattisgarh	Jagdalpur			
	Surat			
Gujarat	Vadodara			
	Rajkot			
Haryana	Hisar			
Himachal Pradesh	Kasauli			
	Shimla			
	Srinagar	Green Ridge		
	Jammu	Himbotingla		
Jammu & Kashmir		Natha Top (Patnitop)		
		Rajouri - 2 nos. (DD National & DD News)		
Jharkhand	Jamshedpur			
	Mysore			
Karnataka	Shimoga			
	Dharwad			
Kanala	Kochi			
Kerala	Kozhikode			
Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior			
-	Nagpur			
Maharashtra	Pune			
	Ambajogai			
Manipur	Churachandpur			
Meghalaya	Shillong			
Mizoram	Lunglei			
Nagaland	Mokokchung			
Odisha	Balasore			
Punjab	Amritsar			
-	Jaipur			
Rajasthan	Barmer			
-	Bundi			
Sikkim	Gangtok			
	Kodaikanal			
Tamil Nadu	Rameshwaram			
Tripura	Agartala			
	Kanpur			
	Varanasi			
Uttar Pradesh	Allahabad			
	Agra			
	Bareilly			
Uttarakhand	Mussoorie			
-	Kurseong			
West Bengal	Krishnanagar			
	Asansol			