GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.736 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20.12.2017

RAIL ROUTES

†736. SHRI TAMRADHWAJ SAHU:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of rail routes in the country which are being used solely for the freight and the details thereof;
- (b) whether the passenger facility can be extended on these rail routes and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the time by which the extension of Bhilai-Ahiwara rail route in Chhattisgarh to connect Bematara, Navagarh, Mungeli and Bilaspur is likely to be sanctioned for which demand had been raised for passenger facility earlier also?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

- (a): 22 Routes in Indian Railways are being used for solely freight traffic. Details of these sections are Appended.
- (b): No, Madam.
- (c): Sanctioning of any new railway line/route is an ongoing continuous process subject to operational, commercial and technical viability. Hence, time frame for sanctioning of Bhilai – Ahiwara rail route to connect Bematara, Navagarh and Mungeli and Bilaspur may not be predicted.

* * * * *

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 736 BY SHRI TAMRADHWAJ SAHU TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 20.12.2017 REGARDING RAIL ROUTES

(a) There are 22 Routes on Indian Railways which are solely used for freight traffic. The details are as under:

Central Railway

- 1. Pen Thal (27 km).
- 2. Panvel Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (25 km).
- 3. Jasai Uran (10 km).
- 4. Kurla Trombay (7 km).
- 5. Butibori Umrer (34).
- 6. Tadali Ghugus (14 km).
- 7. Wani –Rajur (8 km).

West Central Railway

8. Jhukehi – Kymore (21.250 km).

South Western Railway

- 9. Hospet Kotturu (70.93 (km).
- 10. Vyasa Colony Swamihalli (39.62).
- 11. Tornagallu Ranjitpura (22.92 km).
- 12. Alnavar Ambewadi (26.03)

South Eastern Railway

13. Kiriburu – Bimalgarh (40.83 km)

South Central Railway

- 14. Vishnupuram Motumari (89 km).
- 15. Manikgarh Gadchandur (28 km).
- 16. Krishnapatnam Venkatachalam (19 km).
- 17. Komarapudi Krishnapatnam (19.3 km)

Western Railway

- 18. Dahisara Navalakhi (17.55 km).
- 19. Shirva Kandla Port (2.11 km)
- 20. Adipur Mundraport (56.24 km)(Private Railway)

Northern Railway

- 21. Utratia Transport Nagar bye pass(18 km).
- 22. Phaphamau by pass (2.5 km).

* * * * *