GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 3130 TO BE ANSWERED ON FRIDAY, THE 5th JANUARY, 2018 PAUSHA 15, 1939 (SAKA)

.

"E-way Bill"

3130. SHRI LAKHAN LALSAHU: SHRI R.P. MARUTHARAJAA:

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is going to bring/likely to bring e-way bill on priority basis to prevent tax evasion;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government has found any shortcomings in the extant system and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the number of tax evaders on which action has been taken so far, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR FINANCE

(SHRI SHIV PRATAP SHUKLA)

- (a) & (b) The GST Council, in its 24th meeting has decided that the implementation of nationwide e- way bill system for inter-State movement of goods on a compulsory basis shall start from 1stFebruary, 2018 while the States may implement the e-way bill system for intra-State movement of goods on any date between 1st February, 2018 and 1stJune, 2018.
 - (c) No Sir.
 - (d) As per the data available, the details of tax evaders on which action has been taken till now is as per the table below:

Number of tax evaders				
State/UT	State Authorities	Central Authorities	Total	
Andhra Pradesh	5974	0	5974	
Arunachal Pradesh	0	0	0	

Assam	0	0	0
Bihar	30	0	30
Chattisgarh	0	0	0
Goa	0	0	0
Gujarat	66	0	66
Haryana	0	0	0
Himachal Pradesh	40	0	40
Jammu and Kashmir	0	0	0
Jharkhand	202	0	202
Karnataka	23	0	23
Kerala	1538	0	1538
Madhya Pradesh	1	0	1
Maharashtra	0	0	0
Manipur	0	0	0
Meghalaya	0	0	0
Mizoram	0	0	0
Nagaland	0	0	0
Odisha	504	0	504
Punjab	613	1	614
Rajasthan	0	0	0
Sikkim	0	0	0
Tamil Nadu	0	0	0
Telangana	93	0	93
Tripura	1	0	1
Uttar Pradesh	8413	0	8413
Uttarakhand	24	0	24
West Bengal	0	0	0
Daman & Diu	NA	0	0
Delhi	0	NA	0
Dadra & Nagar Haveli	NA	0	0
Andaman & Nicobar Islands	NA	0	0
Lakshadweep	NA	0	0
Puducherry	4	0	4
Chandigarh	NA	0	0
Total	17526	1	17527

Details of the number of tax evaders on which action has been taken is not available in respect of Central tax authority of Delhi; and for the State/UT tax authorities of Chandigarh, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haweli and Andaman & Nicobar Islands. Details in respect of the States/UTs where data is not available (NA) is being collected and will be submitted in due course.