GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2947

TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.01.2018

DEVELOPMENT OF SOLAR CITIES PROGRAMME

2947. DR. KAMBHAMPATI HARIBABU: SHRI KAPIL MORESHWAR PATIL:

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a): whether the Government is implementing the Development of Solar Cities Programme;
- (b): if so, the details thereof along with the details of cities covered under the said Programme, State/UT-wise;
- (c): the Status of implementation of the said Programme in the said cities;
- (d): the funds allocated and released under the said Programme till date, State/UT-wise;
- (e): whether the Government has conducted any study with regard to the targets fixed and achieved under the said Programme and if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise; and
- (f): whether the Government proposes to include more cities under the said Programme and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY (I/C) (SHRI R.K. SINGH)

- (a) & (b): The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy is implementing the Solar Cities Programme and have approved/sanctioned 60 cities under Development of Solar Cities Programme, upto 12th Five-year Plan period. The state/UT-wise details of all 60 solar cities are given in Annexure-I.
- (c): The Master Plans of 49 cities have been prepared and stake-holder's Committees have been constituted in 21 cities. Solar City cells have been created in 37 solar cities. Solar PV projects with aggregate capacity of 8069.16 kWP and Solar Water Heating Systems with aggregate capacity of 7894 meter square collector area have been sanctioned under the programme.
- (d): The State/UT-wise details of funds sanctioned and released so far under Development of Solar Cities Programme are given in **Annexure-II**.
- (e): No such study has been conducted under the Programme.
- **(f):** No such proposal is under consideration in the Ministry.

Annexure-I referred to in reply to part (b) of Lok Sabha unstarred Question No. 2947 to be answered on 04-01-2018 regarding "Development of Solar Cities Programme" by Dr. Kambhampati Haribabu and Shri Kapil Moreshwar Patil.

State-wise names of approved solar cities

Sr. No.	States/UTs	Approved Solar Cities	
1	Andhra Pradesh	Vijayawada	
		Kakinada	
		Narsapur Town	
2	Assam	Guwahati	
		Jorhat	
3	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar	
4	Bihar	Gaya	
5	Chandigarh	Chandigarh	
6	Chhattisgarh	Bilaspur	
		Raipur	
7	Gujarat	Rajkot	
		Gandhinagar	
		Surat	
8	Goa	Panaji City	
9	Haryana	Gurgaon	
		Faridabad	
10	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla	
		Hamirpur	
11	Karnataka	Mysore	
ĺ		Hubli-Dharwad	
12	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram	
		Kochi	
13	Maharashtra	Nagpur	
		Thane	
		Kalyan-Dombivli	
		Aurangabad	
		Nanded	
		Pune	
		Shirdi	
14	Madhya Pradesh	Indore	
		Gwalior	
		Bhopal	
		Jabalpur	
		Rewa	
15	Manipur	Imphal	
16	Mizoram	Aizawl	

17	Nagaland	Kohima
		Dimapur
18	Delhi	New Delhi (NDMC area)
19	Odisha	Bhubaneswar
20	Punjab	Amritsar
		Ludhiana
		SAS Nagar (Mohali)
21	Rajasthan	Ajmer
		Jaipur
		Jodhpur
22	Tamil Nadu	Coimbatore
23	Telangana	Mahbubnagar
24	Tripura	Agartala
25	Uttarakhand	Dehradun
		Haridwar & Rishikesh
		Chamoli-Gopeshwar
26	Uttar Pradesh	Agra
		Moradabad
		Allahabad
27	West Bengal	Howrah
		Madhyamgram
		New Town Kolkata
28	Jammu & Kashmir	Leh
29	Puducherry	Puducherry

Annexure-II referred to in reply to part (d) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2947 to be answered on 04-01-2018 regarding "Development of Solar Cities Programme" by Dr. Kambhampati Haribabu and Shri Kapil Moreshwar Patil.

State-wise cumulative funds allocated and released so far including the current year (i.e. upto 31-12-2017) under "Development of Solar Cities Programme".

SI.No.	State/UT	(Rs. in crore)	(Rs. in crore)	
		Funds	Funds Released	
		sanctioned		
1	Andhra Pradesh	3.46	1.654	
2	Assam	0.94	0.25	
3	Arunachal Pradesh	0.47	0.16	
4	Chandigarh	9.99	8.82	
5	Chhattisgarh	3.40	0.24	
6	Delhi	0.500	0.00	
7	Gujarat	13.405	0.61	
8	Goa	0.43	0.020	
9	Haryana	3.457	0.35	
10	Himachal Pradesh	3.40	1.79	
11	Karnataka	10.36	0.87	
12	Kerala	0.39	0.19	
13	Madhya Pradesh	1.48	0.43	
14	Maharashtra	17.41	3.655	
15	Manipur	0.49	0.040	
16	Mizoram	2.989	2.53	
17	Nagaland	0.96	0.24	
18	Odisha	9.970	0.040	
19	Puducherry	2.99	0.311	
20	Punjab	3.90	0.26	
21	Rajasthan	0.94	0.03	
22	Tamil Nadu	2.99	0.66	
23	Tripura	2.96	1.37	
24	Uttar Pradesh	1.49	0.66	
25	Uttarakhand	1.37	0.32	
26	West Bengal	1.50	0.42	
Total		101.641	25.92	