## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †2916 ANSWERED ON 04.01.2018

### **DESILTING OF GANGA RIVER**

## †2916. SHRI RAJESH RANJAN SHRIMATI RANJEET RANJAN

Will the Minister of WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT AND GANGA REJUVENATION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether a Committee under the chairmanship of Shri A. B. Pandya has been set up to give suggestions on disilting of Ganga river;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the place at which the head office of this Committee is likely to be situated along with the time by which the report is likely to be submitted by it;
- (c) whether this Committee is also likely to consult the State Governments of Bihar and West Bengal and if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether officers from Bihar and West Bengal have also been included in this Committee; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT AND GANGA REJUVENATION & HUMAN RESOURCES DEVELOPMENT

(DR. SATYA PAL SINGH)

S.No.

- (a) & (b) A Committee has been constituted under the Chairmanship of Shri A.B. Pandya, Former Chairman, Central Water Commission, to address the issues of flood and siltation in the state of Bihar. The Committee was constituted on 24<sup>th</sup> August, 2017 for a period of six months from the date of its constitution.
- (c) to (e) The constitution of the Committee and finalisation of Terms of References (ToR) and composition was done after consultations with State Government of Bihar. The composition of the Committee is as under:

Name

1. 2. 3. 4. 5.	Sh. A.B. Pandya, Former Chairman, Central Water Commission Member, D&R / Member, RM, Central Water Commission Chairman, GFCC, Patna General Manager, Farakka Barrage Project Representative of Ministry of Shipping, Government of India	Chairman Member Member Member Member
6.	Sh. Indu Bhushan Kumar, Former Engineer-In-Chief, WRD, Govt. of	Member
	Bihar	
7.	Dr. Muralidhar Singh, Professor WALMI, Patna	Member
8.	Sh. Himanshu Thakkar, Coordinator, South Asia Network Dams, Rivers and People	Member
9.	Sh. Ramakar Jha, Professor, NIT, Patna	Member
10.	Dr. Rakesh Kumar, Director, NEERI, Nagpur	Member
11.	Sh. N.N. Rai, Director, Hydrology (NE), Central Water Commission	Member Secretary