# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.288 TO BE ANSWERED ON 18.12.2017

#### PROTECTION OF MONUMENTS

#### +288. SHRI KIRTI AZAD:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the monuments being protected by Archaeological Survey of India in the country, State/UT-wise;
- (b) the details of the staff provided for each such monument; and
- (c) whether the Government has set up or proposes to set up any regional office of Archaeological Survey of India for monitoring the protection of these monuments and if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR CULTURE AND MINISTER OF STATE FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

### (DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

- (a) There are 3686 historical sites/monuments protected by the Archaeological Survey of India in the country The State-wise historical sites/monuments protected by the Archaeological Survey of India in the country is an Annexure-I.
- (b) The staff provided in the monuments of Archaeological Survey of India consists of Senior Conservation Assistants, Conservation Assistant and Multi Tasking Staff (MTS) depending upon the size, importance of each monument and footfall thereon.
- (c) Archaeological Survey of India has set up five Regional Offices at Delhi, Mumbai, Bhopal, Kolkata and Bangalore.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.288 FOR 18.12.2017

## NUMBER OF CENTRALLY PROTECTED MONUMENTS/SITES UNDER THE JURISDICTION OF ARCHAEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF INDIA IN THE COUNTRY

SI.No.	Name of State	Nos. of Monuments
1.	Andhra Pradesh	129
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	03
3.	Assam	55
4.	Bihar	70
5.	Chhattisgarh	47
6.	Daman & Diu (U. T.)	12
7.	Goa	21
8.	Gujarat	203
9.	Haryana	91
10.	Himachal Pradesh	40
11.	Jammu & Kashmir	69
12.	Jharkhand	13
13.	Karnataka	506
14.	Kerala	28
15.	Madhya Pradesh	292
16.	Maharashtra	285
17.	Manipur	01
18.	Meghalaya	08
19.	Mizoram	01
20.	Nagaland	04
21.	N.C.T. Delhi	174
22.	Odisha	79
23.	Puducherry (U.T.)	07
24.	Punjab	33
25.	Rajasthan	162
26.	Sikkim	03
27.	Telangana	08
28.	Tamil Nadu	413
29.	Tripura	08
30.	Uttar Pradesh	743
31.	Uttarakhand	42
32.	West Bengal	136
	TOTAL	3686