GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 283 TO BE ANSWERED ON 18th DECEMBER, 2017

SPONSORING OF EVENTS THROUGH NGOs

283. ADV. CHINTAMAN NAVASHA WANAGA:

Will the Minister of **COMMERCE & INDUSTRY** (विणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्री) be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Ministry has sponsored or sponsoring some events through Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs);
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the details of the said NGOs including its Chairman; and
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री सी. आर. चौधरी)

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY (SHRI C. R. CHAUDHARY)

(a) to (c): The Tea Board India and the Export Credit Guarantee Corporation of India (ECGC Ltd.), under the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, have sponsored some events through Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs).

The Tea Board India has sponsored some events through NGOs under its Market Promotion Scheme and the Human Resource Development component (for imparting short term vocational training to the dependents and wards of tea plantation workers through institutions/organisations including NGOs) of the XII Plan. The details of the NGOs are as follows:-

1. Market Promotion Scheme (MPS)- Tea Board

- i. Swami Dayananda Service Mission, Bhubaneswar, Odisha, Chairman Shri Arya kumar Jnanedra
- ii. Pratibandhi Kalyan Kendra, West Bengal, President Shri S.N. Menon
- iii. Humanity Foundation, Kolkata, Founder President Shri Pranab Mukerji (photo journalist)
- iv. Compassionate Crusaders Trust, Kolkata, Founder Mr. Debasis Chakrabarti
- v. Divine Social Welfare Society, New Delhi, General Secretary Shri Yash Sharma

2. Human Resource Development component - Tea Board

- i. Ashray, Silchar, Assam, Director Shri Umashankar Singh
- ii. Voluntary Association for Social Upliftment (VASU), Guwahati, Assam, President Shri Shabnam Mohan Raj
- iii. Asha Kiran Samaj Kalyan Samittee, North Lakhimpur, Assam, President Shri RanjanJyoti Bhattacharya
- iv. Rupayan Social Welfare Society, Tezpur, Assam, Secretary Ms. LakhyaJyotiKalita

3. ECGC Ltd. (2016-17 & 2017-18)

- i. Cancer Patient's Aid Association Mumbai, Founder Chairman and CEO Mr. Y. K. Sapru
- ii. Sarth Pratishthan, Mumbai, Chief Patron Mr. Anil Desai
- iii. Arunoday Seva Sansthan, New Delhi, President Mr. T. N. Tiwari
