GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2649 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.01.2018

MODEL STATIONS IN KERALA

2649. SHRIMATI P.K. SREEMATHI TEACHER:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has identified various railway stations for development as model stations in the State of Kerala;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the status of works undertaken in each of the railway stations; and
- (c) the time by when these stations would be fully developed as model railways stations?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

* * * * *

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2649 BY SHRIMATI P.K. SREEMATHI TEACHER TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03.01.2018 REGARDING MODEL STATIONS IN KERALA

(a) to (c): The "Model Station" scheme was in vogue between June, 1999 and November, 2008. 594 stations, including 19 stations in Kerala, were identified and have already been developed under 'Model' Station Scheme. The names of 19 stations identified and developed in Kerala under the Model Station Scheme are as under:-

Kerala Alwaye, Calicut, Cannanore, Chengannaur, Ernakulam Jn.,
(19) Kayankulam, Kottayam, Palghat Jn.(Palakkad Jn.), Quilon,
Trichur (Trisur), Thiruvananthapuram Central, Varkala,
Shoranur, Tellicherry, Tiruvalla, Ernakulam Town, Badagara,
Tirur and Alleppey.

At present, stations are undertaken for development under "Adarsh Station Scheme" and 1253 stations, including 77 stations in Kerala, have been identified for development under this Scheme. Out of 77 Railway stations in Kerala, 63 Stations have been developed so far and the remaining stations are planned to be developed by the year 2017-18. The names of 77 stations identified in Kerala under the Adarsh Station Scheme are as under:-

Kerala	Alappuzha (Alleppey), Aluva, Ambalapuzha, Angamali for
(77)	kaladi, Auvaneeswaram, Badagara, Chalakudi,
	Changanacheri, Charvathur, Chengannur, Cherthala
	(Shertalai), Chingavanam, Dhanuvachapuram, Etakkot,
	Ettumanur, Feroke, Guruvayur, Haripad, Irinjalakuda,
	Jaganath Temple Gate, Kanhangad, Kanjiramittam,
	Kannapuram, Kannur, Karunagapalli, Karuvatta, Kasargod,
	Kayankulam jn, Kazhakuttom, Kochuveli, Kollam (Quilon),
	Kotikulam, Kottarakara, Kozhikkode, Kuruppantara,
	Manjeswaram, Mavelikara, Nilambur Road, Nileswar, Ochira,
	Kottayam, Mararikulam, Mulanturutti, Pappinisseri,
	Payyanur, Parappanangadi, Paravur, Pattikkadu, Payangadi,
	Piravam Road, Punalur, Quilandi, Sasthankotta, Thalasseri

(Tellicherry), Tirur, Tiruvalla, Tiruvizha, Trichur (Trisur), Tripunittura, Vaikam Road, Valapattanam, Vayalar, Vellarakkad, Wadakancheri, Ernakulam Town, Chirayinkil, Kannur South, Kumbla, Trikarpur, Bekal Fort, Kundara, Mulangunnathu-kavu, Vallathol Nagar, Ottappalam, Katpadi, Vellore Cantonment and Tiruvananthapuram Central.

* * * * *