GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2608 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.01.2018

PASSPORT APPLICATION PROCEDURES

2608. SHRI ANTO ANTONY:

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has recently revised passport application procedures;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the number of passport seva kendras functioning at present in the country state-wise;
- (d) whether the Government has started a full-fledged passport seva kendra in Pathanamthitta district, Kerala; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof including facilities available there?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRI M. J. AKBAR)

- (a) & (b) In recent years, the Ministry has made many quantitative and qualitative improvements in the delivery of passport services in the country. With the implementation of the Passport Seva Project, the Ministry has been providing quality service to the people from the Passport Seva Kendras (PSK) and Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSK) established with good amenities across the country in Public Private Partnership (PPP) mode. Under this system, the applicants are required to apply for their passports online, upload relevant documents, make the payment online through debit/credit card or State Bank of India (SBI) net banking/ SBI Challan, schedule an appointment and then visit the designated Passport Seva Kendra (PSK). A user friendly portal has been made available. When an applicant visits the PSK/ POPSK, an Electronic Queue Management System (EQMS) working on the principle of First-in First-out is available at all PSKs to monitor the flow of applicants. The applicants can track the status of their applications themselves through portal and also SMS services. In the current system of passport issuance, there is no manual intervention at any stage, and the complete process is digitally flown with re-engineered process through a single visit clearance.
- (c) There are 92 Passport Seva Kendras (PSK) (**Annexure-I**) and 59 Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSK) (**Annexure-II**) functioning in the country as on 28 December, 2017.
- (d) & (e) The Government has started a Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POSPK) at Pathanamthitta district of Kerala from 01 March, 2017. Applicants, who apply for their passports online through the passport

portal, can now schedule an appointment and then visit the POPSK at Pathanamthitta to complete the formalities prior to the issue of the passport. The photograph and the biometrics would be electronically captured at the POPSK for the issue of the passport.

ANNEXURE-I

STATE-WISE LIST OF PASSPORT SEVA KENDRAS (PSKs)

S. No.	State/UT	No. of PSKs	Location of PSKs	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	4	Vijayawada, Tirupati, Visakhapatnam, Bhimavaram	
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Itanagar	
3.	Assam*	1	Guwahati	
4.	Bihar	2	Patna, Darbhanga	
5.	Chandigarh UT**	1	Chandigarh	
6.	Chhattisgarh	1	Raipur	
7.	Delhi NCT***	3	Herald House, Shalimar Place, Bhikaji Cama Place	
8.	Goa	1	Panaji	
9.	Gujarat	5	Ahmedabad I& II, Vadodara, Rajkot, Surat.	
10.	Haryana	2	Ambala, Gurgaon.	
11.	Himachal Pradesh	1	Shimla	
12.	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Jammu, Srinagar	
13.	Jharkhand	1	Ranchi	
14.	Karnataka	5	Bangalore I & II, Hubli, Mangalore, Kalaburagi.	
15.	Kerala	13	Thiruvananthapuram, Thiruvananthapuram (Rural), Kollam, Cochin, Ernakulam Rural, Alapuzha, Kottayam, Malappuram, Thrissur, Kozhikode I & II, Kannur I & II.	
16.	Madhya Pradesh	2	Bhopal, Indore	
17.	Maharashtra	8	Mumbai I, II & III, Pune, Nagpur, Thane, Nashik, Solapur.	
18.	Manipur	1	Imphal	
19.	Meghalaya	1	Shillong	
20.	Mizoram	1	Aizawl	
21.	Nagaland	1	Dimapur	
22.	Odisha	1	Bhubaneswar	
23.	Puducherry	1	Puducherry	
24.	Punjab	5	Amritsar, Ludhiana, Jalandhar I & II, Hoshiarpur.	
25.	Rajasthan	4	Jaipur, Jodhpur, Sikar, Udaipur	
26.	Sikkim	1	Gangtok	
27.	Tamil Nadu	8	Chennai I, II & III, Trichy, Thanjavur, Madurai, Tirunelveli, Coimbatore,	
28.	Telangana	5	Hyderabad I, II & III, Nizamabad, Karimnagar	
29.	Tripura	1	Agartala	
30.	Uttar Pradesh	6	Lucknow, Varanasi, Kanpur, Gorakhpur, Bareilly, Ghaziabad.	
31.	Uttarakhand	1	Dehradun	
32.	West Bengal	2	Kolkata, Berhampore.	
	TOTAL	92		

^{*} RPO Guwahati covers five other North-Eastern States also at present.

^{**}RPO Chandigarh covers parts of Punjab and Haryana.

^{***}RPO Delhi covers parts of Haryana.

[@]RPO Kolkata covers Sikkim and Tripura.

Annexure-II

List of Functional POPSKs

S.No.	State/UT	Locations	Passport Office
1	Andhra Pradesh	Kadappa	Vishakhapatnam
2	Andhra Pradesh	Kurnool	Vishakhapatnam
3	Andhra Pradesh	Nellore	Vishakhapatnam
4	Assam	Silchar	Guwahati
5	Bihar	Muzaffarpur	Patna
6	Bihar	Purnea	Patna
7	Bihar	Bhagalpur	Patna
8	Bihar	Siwan	Patna
9	Bihar	Bettiah	Patna
10	Chattisgarh	Surguja	Raipur
11	Dadar & Nagar Haveli	Silvasa	Mumbai
12	Daman	Daman	Mumbai
13	Gujarat	Dahod	Ahmedabad
14	Gujarat	Palanpur	Ahmedabad
15	Gujarat	Bhuj	Ahmedabad
16	Haryana	Karnal	Chandigarh
17	Haryana	Hisar	Chandigarh
18	Haryana	Faridabad	Delhi
19	Himachal Pradesh	Palampur	Shimla
20	Himachal Pradesh	Hamirpur	Shimla
21	Jammu & Kashmir	Udhampur	Jammu
22	Jammu & Kashmir	Leh	Srinagar
23	Jharkhand	Jamshedpur	Ranchi
24	Jharkhand	Deoghar	Ranchi
25	Karnataka	Mysuru	Bangalore
26	Kerala	Pathanamthitta	Trivandrum
27	Kerala	Kasargod	Kozhikode
28	Lakshadweep	Kavaratti	Cochin
29	Madhya Pradesh	Vidisha	Bhopal
30	Madhya Pradesh	Satna	Bhopal
31	Madhya Pradesh	Jabalpur	Bhopal
32	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior	Bhopal
33	Maharastra	Kolhapur	Pune
34	Maharastra	Aurangabad	Mumbai
35	Maharastra	Pimpri Chinchwad	Pune
36	Odisha	Rourkela	Bhubaneshwar
37	Odisha	Sambalpur	Bhubaneshwar
38	Odisha	Koraput	Bhubaneshwar
39	Punjab	Bathinda	Chandigarh
40	Punjab	Patiala	Chandigarh
41	Rajasthan	Kota	Jaipur
42	Rajasthan	Bikaner	Jaipur
43	Rajasthan	Jhunjhunu	Jaipur

44	Rajasthan	Jaisalmer	Jaipur
45	Rajasthan	Jhalawar	Jaipur
46	Tamil Nadu	Salem	Coimbatore
47	Tamil Nadu	Vellore	Chennai
48	Telangana	Mehbubnagar	Hyderabad
49	Telangana	Warangal/	Hyderabad
		Hanamkonda	
50	Uttar Pradesh	Jhansi	Lucknow
51	Uttar Pradesh	Pilibhit	Bareilly
52	Uttar Pradesh	Ghazipur	Lucknow
53	Uttar Pradesh	Ayodhya/ Faizabad	Lucknow
54	Uttar Pradesh	Allahabad	Lucknow
55	Uttar Pradesh	Deoria	Lucknow
56	West Bengal	Asansol	Kolkata
57	West Bengal	Raiganj	Kolkata
58	West Bengal	Beadon Street	Kolkata
59	West Bengal	Krishnanagar	Kolkata
