GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2547 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.01.2018

GROUP ON NUTRITION

2547. SHRI C. N. JAYADEVAN:

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that the NITI Aayog has recently constituted a working group on Nutrition;
- (b) if so, the details and the terms of reference thereof;
- (c) whether the working group has submitted its recommendations and if so, the details thereof and the time frame given to the Group to submit the report;
- (d) whether the Government has taken all precautionary measures to safeguard against vested interests hijacking public policy; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR MINISTRY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS

(RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a) &(b) Yes, Madam. NITI Aayog has constituted a Working Group on Nutrition. The Notification Order of this Group, along with institutional affiliations and Terms of Reference is placed at Annexure I. Subsequent to the notification, a few other Members were co-opted in the Group and their details are at Annexure II.
- (c) No, Madam. The Group has not submitted any recommendations to NITI Aayog and there is no time frame fixed for the same.
- (d) & (e) The Central Government firmly believes in the principle of "No conflict of interest", as clearly highlighted in the National Nutrition Strategy, released by NITI Aayog in September, 2017 and available on the NITI Aayog website at: http://niti.gov.in/writereaddata/files/document_publication/Nutrition_Strategy_Booklet.pdf.

Annexure referred to in reply to the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.2547 to be answered on 3.01.2018 raised by SHRI C.N. JAYADEVAN, regarding "Group on Nutrition"

No.NA/SW/1-7(1)/2017-WCD Government of India NITI Aayog

Sansad Marg, New Delhi. The 26th September, 2017.

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: Constitution of Working Group on Nutrition.

NITI Aayog proposes to reach out for fresh ideas for a New India by 2022 on improving the Nutrition sector. It also seeks inputs on monitoring, effectively implementing and scaling up existing Government schemes, etc. in the Nutrition sector. In view of this, the undersigned is directed to state that NITI Aayog has constituted a Working Group on Nutrition with the following composition:

- 1. Dr Vinod Kumar Paul (Chair), Member, NITI Aayog
- 2. Sh Alok Kumar Adviser, Nutrition
- 3. Dr Rajesh Kumar, JS (ICDS), MoWCD
- 4. Dr Soumya Swaminathan, DG, ICMR
- 5. Dr. B Sesikeran, National Institute of Nutrition (NIN)
- 6. Dr T Longvah, National Institute of Nutrition (NIN)
- 7. Sh Pawan Agarwal, CEO, FSSAI
- 8. Dr. M.K. Bhan, Former Secretary, Department of Biotechnology
- 9. Dr Prema Ramachandran, Nutrition Foundation of India
- 10. Sh Basanta Kumar Kar, CEO, Coalition for Food and Nutrition Security
- 11. Dr. Purnima Menon, IFPRI
- 12. Dr Rajan Sankar, Tata Trust
- 13. Dr. Manjula Singh, Children's Investment Fund Foundation
- 14. Dr Yasmin Ali Haque, Representative- India, UNICEF
- 15. Ms Rekha Sinha, Director, International Institute of Life Sciences
- 16. Dr Luke Coutinho, Expert- Nutritionist
- 17. Mr. Sameer Maheshwari, Founder, Healthkart
- 18. Mr. Nilesh Jain, Founder and Director, Picostone Technologies
- 19. Sh Amod Kanth, General Secretary, Prayas
- 20. Mr Alok Ranjan, Country Lead, Nutrition, BMGF
- 21. Representative, World Bank
- 22. Prof Anura Kurpad, St John's Medical College, Bangalore

2. Terms of Reference for Expert Group on Nutrition:

- 1. To **provide** intellectual inputs and guidance to the Division, as per requirements.
- 2. To **review** the existing approach, strategies and priorities, on-going policies and programmes for Nutrition.
- 3. To **highlight** emerging issues and challenges with a special focus on the most vulnerable and deprived sections of the society.

4. To **recommend**, where necessary, corrective measures, conceptual frameworks, alternative strategies, priorities, policies and programmes to accelerate the achievement of nutrition goals.

Functioning

- 1. The Chair may co-opt other Experts and constitute Sub-Groups for specific tasks.
- 2. The Committee may take up any other issues, which it considers relevant.
- 3. The expenditure on TA/DA of officials of the Committee will be borne by their respective Ministry/ Department of Central/ State Government as per rules of entitlement applicable to them.
- 4. TA/DA for non-officials will be borne by NITI Aayog.
- 3. This issues with the approval of Competent Authority.

Sd-(Anamika Singh) Deputy Secretary Tele: 23351139.

To

- 1. Dr Vinod Kumar Paul (Chair), Member, NITI Aayog
- 2. Sh Alok Kumar Adviser, Nutrition
- 3. Dr Rajesh Kumar, JS (ICDS), MoWCD
- 4. Dr Soumya Swaminathan, DG, ICMR
- 5. Dr. B Sesikeran, National Institute of Nutrition (NIN)
- 6. Dr T Longvah, National Institute of Nutrition (NIN)
- 7. Sh Pawan Agarwal, CEO, FSSAI
- 8. Dr. M.K. Bhan, Former Secretary, Department of Biotechnology
- 9. Dr Prema Ramachandran, Nutrition Foundation of India
- 10. Sh Basanta Kumar Kar, CEO, Coalition for Food and Nutrition Security
- 11. Dr. Purnima Menon, IFPRI
- 12. Dr Rajan Sankar, Tata Trust
- 13. Dr. Manjula Singh, Children's Investment Fund Foundation
- 14. Dr Yasmin Ali Haque, Representative- India, UNICEF
- 15. Ms Rekha Sinha, Director, International Institute of Life Sciences
- 16. Dr Luke Coutinho, Expert- Nutritionist
- 17. Mr. Sameer Maheshwari, Founder, Healthkart
- 18. Mr. Nilesh Jain, Founder and Director, Picostone Technologies
- 19. Sh Amod Kanth, General Secretary, Prayas
- 20. Mr Alok Ranjan, Country Lead, Nutrition, BMGF
- 21. Representative, World Bank
- 22. Prof Anura Kurpad, St John's Medical College, Bangalore

Annexure referred to in reply to the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.2547 to be answered on 3.01.2018 raised by SHRI C.N. JAYADEVAN, regarding Group on Nutrition

List of Co-Opted Members

- 1. Prof C. S. Pandav, Former Head, Centre for Community Medicine, AIIMS
- 2. Secretary, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare
- 3. Sh Raj Kumar Bhandari
- 4. Ms. Naiyya Saggi
- 5. Mr S. B. Agnihotri, IIT Mumbai
- 6. Mr. V. Ramani,