GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 1800 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 28.12.2017)

INTRODUCTION OF DIGITAL TERRESTRIAL TV

1800. SHRI N. K. PREMACHANDRAN:

Will the MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to introduce Digital Terrestrial TV (DTT) throughout the country and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the State-wise details of expenditure incurred for establishing DTT;
- (c) the details regarding the closure of terrestrial transmission stations of Doordarshan, State-wise;
- (d) the action taken by the Government for the rehabilitation and accommodation of the surplus staff due to the closure of terrestrial transmission stations;
- (e) the total expenditure incurred for the installation of DTT for Doordarshan Kendras in Kerala along with the total coverage area of DTT in Kerala;
- (f) whether the subscribers purchased additional equipment or applications for using the DTT and if so, the average estimated expense of each subscriber; and
- (g) whether the Government proposes to implement a comprehensive package for the installation of DTT and rehabilitation of technical staff due to the closure of terrestrial transmission stations and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING

{COL RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (Retd.)}

- (a) Prasar Bharati has informed that the Government has approved setting up of Digital Terrestrial Transmitters (DTTs) under 11th and 12th Plan at 63 locations in the country.
- (b) The State-wise details of expenditure incurred (till November, 2017) for establishing DTTs is given at **Annexure-I**

- (c) Closure of Analog Transmitters has been approved by the Prasar Bharati Board in a phased manner. The list of analog transmitters/transposers closed during last three years is given at **Annexure-II**
- (d) Prasar Bharati has plans for redeployment of surplus staff with AIR and DD as per requirement.
- (e) An expenditure of Rs. 521.99 lakhs has been incurred till November, 2017 towards installation of DTTs in Kerala. As of now, DTT High Power Transmitter (HPT) at Thiruvananthapuram has already been commissioned providing inland coverage to approximately 5423 sq. Kms. of area.
- (f) Integrated Digital TV sets (iDTV) with built in digital tuner are available in the market. For existing TV sets, there is a requirement of Set Top Box (STB) to receive DTT service. DTT service can also be received on mobile / portable device using an external dongle and suitable apps. The average cost of set top box with antenna / dongle is, in the range of Rs. 1,500/- to Rs 3,000/- presently.

(g) replied at (a) and (d) above.

ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1800 FOR ANSWER ON 28.12.2017

ANNEXURE-I

Details of Expenditure incurred under DTT Transmitters

Sr. no.	State	Exp. upto Nov, 2017 - Rs in Lakhs		
1.	Andhra Pradesh	80.45		
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	43.12		
3.	Assam	535.57		
4.	Bihar	565.19		
5.	Chhattisgarh	555.83		
6.	Gujarat	611.19		
7.	Haryana	37.62		
8.	Himachal Pradesh	85.02		
9.	Delhi	575.29		
10.	Jharkhand	574.34		
11.	Jammu & Kashmir	552.86		
12.	Karnataka	637.90		
13.	Kerala	521.99		
14.	Maharashtra	1077.94		
15.	Manipur	38.35		
16.	Meghalaya	30.72		
17.	Mizoram	42.26		
18.		1062.77		
19.	•	39.97		
20.		531.45		
	Punjab	576.4		
22.	- 7	113.35		
23.		34.91		
24.	Telangana	517.74		
25.		545.72		
	Tripura	60.82		
27.	Uttar Pradesh	704.19		
28.	Uttarakhand	43.69		
29.	West Bengal	643.98		

ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1800 FOR ANSWER ON 28.12.2017

ANNEXURE-II

List of Transmitters Closed during Last Three Years.

Sr. No.	State/ UT	Type of transmitter Location		
1.	Andhra Pradesh	LPT	Udayagiri	
2.		VLPT	Chintapalli	
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	Transposer	Sankhiview	
4.	Bihar	LPT	Madhepura	
5.		LPT	Simri Bakhtiarpur	
6.		LPT	Khagaria.	
7.		LPT	Supaul	
8.	Jammu & Kashmir	VLPT	Fatula	
9.		VLPT	Tilel	
10.		VLPT	Mohra	
11.	Meghalaya	Transposer	Shillong	
12.	Mizoram	Transposer	Aizawl	
13.	Punjab	Transposer	Talwara	
14.	Tamilnadu	LPT	Coonoor	
15.		LPT	Gudiyatam	
16.	Uttarakhand	VLPT	Manila	
17.		VLPT	Basot	
18.	West Bengal	LPT	Medinipur	
19.		LPT	Jhargram	
20.		LPT	Ranaghat	
21.		LPT	Kalna	