GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1727 TO BE ANSWERED ON 28.12.2017

DDUGJY IN ASSAM

†1727. SHRI NABA KUMAR SARANIA:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the facilities provided to the people under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana (DDUGJY); and
- (b) the number of persons benefited under the Yojana in Assam, district-wise?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI R. K. SINGH)

- (a): Government of India launched the 'Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana' (DDUGJY) in December, 2014 for various rural electrification works including separation of agriculture and non-agriculture feeders, strengthening and augmentation of sub-transmission & distribution infrastructure, metering at distribution transformers/feeders/consumers and electrification of villages. Major items of works sanctioned under DDUGJY new projects as on 30.11.2017 include Augmentation of 2181 sub-stations and creation of 1825 Sub-stations; 3,84,553 Distribution Transformers (DTR); 2,64,300 circuit kilometers (cKm) of 11 KV line (including 1,56,493.20 cKm of feeder segregation); 1,22,078.66 cKm of Low Tension (LT) Line; 25,120.20 cKm of 33 & 66 KV lines; 1,51,60,243 energy meters for consumers; 3,77,120 energy meters for DTR and 29,287 energy meters for 11 KV Feeder.
- (b): Rural Electrification works under DDUGJY benefits all the residents of the area. As reported by the State of Assam, free electricity connections to 14.05 lakh BPL households have been released under DDUGJY in Assam, as on 30.11.2017. The district-wise details are given at Annexure.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1727 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 28.12.2017.

District-wise number of BPL connections released under DDUGJY in Assam

Sr. No.	Districts	BPL connections
		(as on 30.11.2017)
1	Baksa	19,389
2	Barpeta	1,10,869
3	Bongaigaon	68,594
4	Cachar	50,172
5	Chirang	9,579
6	Darrang	80,652
7	Dhemaji	33,836
8	Dhubri	1,03,643
9	Dibrugarh	18,571
10	Dima Hasao	6,382
11	Goalpara	31,025
12	Golaghat	69,034
13	Hailakandi	12,233
14	Jorhat	60,529
15	Kamrup	84,622
16	Karbi Anglong	42,527
17	Karimganj	34,435
18	Kokrajhar	27,000
19	Lakhimpur	52,100
20	Morigaon	50,668
21	Nagaon	1,42,058
22	Nalbari	95,741
23	Sivasagar	35,207
24	Sonitpur	70,771
25	Tinsukia	93,673
26	Udalguri	1,200
	Total	14,04,510
