# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

### UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1608 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27-12-2017

#### **Minority Commissions**

1608. SHRI ASADUDDIN OWAISI:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Minority Commissions set up in different States and Union Territories in the last two years; and
- (b) the steps being taken in this regard and the outcome thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a)&(b) As per information available with National Commission for Minorities (NCM), 18 States and UTs have so far constituted their own State Minority Commissions i.e the States of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chattisgarh, NCT of Delhi, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telengana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and West Bengal have set up State Minority Commissions... No Minority Commission has been set up in the last two years by any State/UT. Setting up of State Minorities Commissions comes under the purview of the respective State Governments/UT Administrations. From time to time, NCM takes up the matter with the remaining State Governments/UT Administrations for setting up Minority Commissions.

\*\*\*\*\*\*